February 22, 2018

Ten from Tarleton competing in CNFR



(June 14, 2015) — The College National Finals Rodeo wouldn’t be complete without a delegation from Tarleton state University.

Making their way from Stephenville to Casper, Wyoming for the 2015 CNFR are 10 competitors, seven Texans and three TexAnns.



The CNFR began with Sunday performances of “Bulls, Broncs & Breakaway,” featuring the first go-round of bull riding, saddle bronc riding and breakaway roping. Slack on Monday and Tuesday will complete the first two rounds in all events, with the third rounds taking place over the course of four full-scale rodeo productions at 8 p.m. (CST) Tuesday-Friday. The short-go, or championship round, is set for 8 p.m. (CST) Saturday.

Tarleton has won four women’s team titles and two men’s team championships, the last for each coming in its men’s and women’s sweep in 2005. Tarleton is also home to 22 individual national titles including all-around crowns by Billy Bob Brown in 2013, Kirby Eppert in 2007 and Ryan Watkins in 2005, plus women’s all-around victories by Kody Engle in 2011 and Jennifer Smith Driver in 1999.



Here are the competitors representing Tarleton at the 2015 CNFR:

Saddle Bronc Riding

Brody Cress

Jace Lane

Bareback riding

Kody Lamb

Devan Reilly

Tie-down Roping

Jace Melvin

Landon Williams

Steer Wrestling

Jace Melvin

Jace Lane

Team Roping (Heading)

Ryan Wright (partner with heeler Levi Lord of Eastern New Mexico)

Barrel Racing

Shelby Herrmann

Breakaway Roping

Lauren Bane

Goat Tying

Baili Collins

Lauren Bane


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.