Endowment honors longtime Tarleton counseling professor

Dr. Ann Albrecht

STEPHENVILLE (February 8, 2018) — An endowed scholarship to honor longtime professor Ann Albrecht has been created in concert with the 40th anniversary of Tarleton State University’s Department of Counseling.

Dr. Albrecht joined Tarleton in 1992 as the program’s third faculty member and is credited with helping set the pace for its growth and development.

Albrecht and husband Dr. Dennis Jones, professor in Tarleton’s College of Business Administration, made the initial gift to start the endowment. When fully funded, students enrolled in the master’s degree program in clinical mental health counseling can apply for the Dr. Ann Albrecht Honorary Counseling Scholarship.

“We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated faculty and strong supporters as Drs. Ann Albrecht and Dennis Jones,” said Dr. David Weissenburger, interim dean of Tarleton’s College of Health Sciences and Human Services. “Their generous gift will help us meet North Texas’ need for professional clinical mental health counselors.”

When Albrecht joined Tarleton, the counseling program—then a master’s of education—was geared toward helping high schools meet the 1958 National Defense Education Act requirement to have a professional counselor on staff. Coming from a public school career, she understood the need and was eager to help.

While Tarleton’s program still provides training for school counselors, today’s emphasis on clinical mental health counseling reflects current needs.

A licensed professional counselor-supervisor, Albrecht serves on the editorial review board for the Journal of Mental Health Counseling and is a longstanding member of the American Counseling Association, American Mental Health Counselors Association, American School Counselor Association, Southern Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, Texas Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, Texas Counseling Association, Texas Mental Health Counselors Association, the Texas School Counseling Association and Cross Timbers Counseling Association.

She is the recipient of the 2017 College of Health Sciences and Human Services O.A. Grant Excellence in Teaching Award and the 2015 College of Education Barry B. Thompson Service Award.

Albrecht was inducted into the John Tarleton Society in 2011 and honored by the Texas School Counselor Association as Rhosine Fleming Outstanding Counselor Educator of the Year. She received the Outstanding Service Award from the Cross Timbers Counseling Association in 2009 and Tarleton’s All-Purple Award in 2007 for her support of the school’s athletic programs.

She earned her bachelor’s degree in education at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, her master’s degree in education from the University of Wisconsin at Oshkosh and her doctorate in counseling from Marquette University.

To donate to the Dr. Ann Albrecht Honorary Counseling Scholarship, go to https://tinyurl.com/AnnAlbrecht.

For more information on Tarleton’s counseling program, visit www.tarleton.edu/counsel.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply