Tarleton alumnus Dwain Mayfield honored by Texas A&M University

STEPHENVILLE (March 7, 2018) — Tarleton State University graduate Dwain Mayfield has been awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award by Texas A&M University.

The award is the highest honor given to former students of Texas A&M, recognizing Aggies who achieve excellence in their chosen professions and make meaningful contributions to their local communities and the university.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award has been given annually by Texas A&M and The Association of Former Students since 1962. To date, only 276 of Texas A&M’s 477,000 former students are recipients of the honor.

Mayfield earned an associate degree at Tarleton in 1957, then bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from Texas A&M and a master’s in business administration from TCU. He received an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Tarleton last spring for his involvement with students and his philanthropic support.

Texas A&M University recently presented Dwain Mayfield (Tarleton ’57) with its Distinguished Alumnus Award. The award is the highest honor given to former students of Texas A&M. (Association of Former Students photo)

His professional career spanned more than 40 years in the aerospace industry. He played a major role in the success of the F-16 fighter jet as an engineer at Fort Worth’s General Dynamics, now Lockheed Martin, advancing to vice-president of program development, where he was in charge of worldwide marketing.

Mayfield serves on the board of directors for the Tarleton Foundation, Inc., is an adviser to the university’s aeronautical team and a member of the Dean’s Circle for the College of Science and Technology. He and wife Lynda established an endowed scholarship at Tarleton for engineering students.

Mayfield has chaired the board of The Association of Former Students at Texas A&M and served as a member of A&M’s President’s Advisory Council and the Dwight Look College of Engineering Advisory Council. He is a member of the A&M University System Chancellor’s Century Council.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply