Tarleton Bass Club earns second berth in FLW national championship

STEPHENVILLE (April 9, 2018) — A Top 10 finish this past weekend by two Tarleton State University Bass Club anglers has earned the student organization a second slot in the 2019 Fishing League Worldwide (FLW) College Fishing National Championship.

Tarleton’s Hayden Pittman of Bergheim, Texas, and Jarrett Robertson of Kerrville, Texas, finished ninth out of 91 teams on Sunday, April 8, at the YETI FLW College Fishing tournament on Lake Texoma near Denison. The pair of anglers received $200 in winnings at the scales.

The Bass Club duo earned a berth into the college fishing national championship with a five-bass limit weighing 17 pounds, 3 ounces—a mere 2 pounds, 1 ounce behind the tournament champions from Northeastern State University (Okla.).

The Top 10 teams from this past weekend’s FLW College Fishing tournament advance to next year’s national championship. Tarleton Bass Club members Chad Jones and Graham Godwin also earned a slot in the 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship following a first place finish in January on Sam Rayburn Reservoir.

In addition to Pittman and Robertson’s ninth-place finish, the Tarleton Bass Club was represented in the FLW tournament by:
• Nick Prestwood and Jacob David – 18th, 15-pounds, 10-ounces (five fish)
• Dylan Jebousek and Justin Faterkowski – 23rd, 15-pounds, 2-ounces (five fish)
• Jared Stone and Matthew Ford – 38th, 12-pounds, 15-ounces (four fish)
• Chad Jones and Graham Godwin – 40th, 12-pounds, 12-ounces (five fish)
• Tucker Sargent and Wyatt Young – 54th, 10-pounds, 2-ounces (five fish)
• Reid Smith and Cason Kelly – 56th, 9-pounds, 12-ounces (four fish).

Tarleton’s Bass Club competes in FLW’s Southern Conference.

In addition to the two Tarleton teams qualifying for FLW’s national championship tournament, the campus student organization also will be represented in the Carhartt Bassmaster College Series National Bass Fishing Tournament by Robertson and angling partner Brandon Smith. The duo hauled in more than 30 pounds of trophy largemouth bass on Toledo Bend Reservoir near Many, La., to qualify.

The YETI FLW College Fishing event on Lake Texoma was hosted by the Denison Area Chamber of Commerce, and was the second of three regular-season qualifying tournaments for Southern Conference anglers in 2018.

YETI FLW College Fishing teams compete in three regular-season qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences—Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top ten teams from each division’s three regular-season tournaments and the top 20 teams from the annual FLW College Fishing Open will advance to the 2019 FLW College Fishing National Championship. Additional teams will qualify for the National Championship if the field size in regular-season events exceeds 100 boats.

The 2018 FLW College Fishing National Championship takes place May 30-June 1 on the Red River in Shreveport, La., and is hosted by the Shreveport-Bossier Sports Commission & Red River Waterway Commission.

YETI FLW College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a college fishing club that is recognized by their school.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply