Stephenville ISD honors students, discusses HJH drop-off

Rachel Snyder

STEPHENVILLE (May 22, 2018)– To wrap up the 2017-2018 school year, Stephenville ISD honored twelve student organizations who advanced in their competitions, named the teachers of the year and honored others. The Stephenville board of trustees also discussed different possibilities for the Henderson Junior parent and bus drop-off lanes.

“It’s been a problem for four years,” Stephenville ISD superintendent Matt Underwood said.

Former SISD director of transportation Ron Henry stated that the drop-off and pick-up lanes at Henderson Junior High have been a problem since he worked there. Students walk between the school buses from the pick-up lanes, which has almost caused students to be hit.

“This is a problem,” Henry said. “The best course of action is to separate where you drop off kids with the buses and kids that get dropped off by parents. It’s a matter of when a kid gets hit by a bus.”

Stephenville Police Chief Jason King will begin collecting data and looking at traffic counts to help determine a course of action. Underwood brought up different possibilities, but there are possible problems with each solution.

The board also went into closed session to discuss different ways to increase Stephenville High School’s security in the current building. Security improvements are part of the bond, but board members expressed concern over current security in light of the Santa Fe school shooting.

“Instead of waiting for the bomb to drop, we should do something now,” school board vice president Scott Osman said.

The main concern appears to be the front entrance where there is currently a small vestibule in the foyer. The employee in the vestibule signs in all visitors but has no way of preventing someone from entering the school.

Several possibilities were brought up, but, due to fire codes and costs, the solution mainly discussed prior to the closed session is to add a glass partition with doors to either side of the vestibule, restricting access past the front part of the foyer.

No decisions were made as of this meeting.

The board also accepted a donation from Central Elementary PTO of $10,600 to build a basketball court slab for the kids to play on during recess. The basketball court will also have extra short basketball goals, so “the kids have a realistic chance of making a goal.”

The board voted for Dr. Ann Calahan as board president, Scott Osman as vice president and Sherrie Evans as secretary.


This year’s teachers of the year are Curissa Watkins for the elementary schools and Bobby Clevenger for the secondary schools.

Other honorees include:

  • Angela Withers with Hook Elementary for showing the core value of initiative,
  • Henderson Junior High Future Problem Solvers for advancing to state,
  • SHS academic UIL state qualifiers,
  • SHS choir for sweepstakes,
  • SHS DECA and IDC state and national competitors,
  • SHS indoor drumline for competing in the NTCA percussion/wind championships,
  • SHS FFA,
  • SHS One Act Play,
  • SHS Theatrical Design competitors,
  • SHS Varsity Girls’ Soccer for earning regional semifinalists,
  • Varsity Girls and Boys’ Track state qualifiers, and
  • VASE state competitors.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply