WNFR: Corkill one catch away from three-peat


Staff Report

Photos by DUDLEY BARKER, dudleydoright.com


(December 12, 2014) — Team ropers Clay Tryan and Jade Corkill are one catch away from a second straight PRCA world championship together.

It would be the third straight for Corkill, a Huckabay heeler who won his first world title with Kaleb Driggers, also of Huckabay, in 2012. Tryan won it in 2005 with fellow Lipan cowboy Patrick Smith.

Tryan and Corkill are the only pairing that has caught all nine steer at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, including a cautious sixth-place run of 5.2 seconds in Friday’s ninth go-round at the Thomas & Mack Center.

Jade Corkill
Jade Corkill || Photo by Dudley Barker, dudleydoright.com

The contingency of Stephenville area team ropers earned more than $41,000 in the ninth performance. Driggers and Smith, now paired together, were second in 4.1 seconds for more than $15,000 each. Stephenville heeler Jake Long earned more than $4,900 helping partner Coleman Proctor to a fifth-place finish in 4.6 seconds. Tryan and Corkill each pocketed more than $3,000.

Barrel Racers and bareback riders pushed the Stephenville-area take past $80,000 in the go-round and past $930,000 entering Saturday’s final performance.

Carlee Pierce || Dudeley Barker, dudleydoright.com
Carlee Pierce || Photo by Dudeley Barker, dudleydoright.com

Carlee Pierce of Stephenville was second in the barrels, earning more than $15,000 in 13.90 seconds. Stephenville’s Samantha Lyne was third in $13.94, claiming more than $11,000.

Former Tarleton bareback rider Richie Champion enters the 10th round with a shot at winning the average. His score of 83 on Painted Brush matched Stephenville’s Bobby Mote’s 83-point re-ride on Jim Dandy, as both cowboys won more than $9,600.

Champion has scored 729.5 points, trailing only Kaycee Feild’s 732.5. Austin Foss (729.0) is just half a point behind Champion in third, while Winn Ratliff (728.0) in fourth, Jake Void (727.5) in fifth and Mote (726.5) in sixth are all within striking distance in the average.

Saturday’s final go-round will be broadcast by CBS Sports beginning at 9 p.m. CST.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply