Fowler reportedly a candidate at FCS Austin Peay

After resigning at Tarleton State on November 16, Cary Fowler is a candidate for the head coach vacancy at Division I FCS Austin Peay State in Clarksville, Tennessee, according to a report by Clarksville newspaper The Leaf-Chronicle.


STEPHENVILLE (December 6, 2015) — Former Tarleton State head football coach Cary Fowler is reportedly a candidate for the Division I FCS opening at Austin Peay State University.

Located in Clarksville, Tennessee less than 30 miles south of where Fowler was reared in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, Austin Peay dismissed head coach Kirby Cannon one week after Fowler resigned at Tarleton State on November 16.

Cannon was dismissed for what was perceived as a a lack of progress, a report in The Leaf-Chronicle newspaper in Clarksville attributed to a release from the university. The Leaf-Chronicle went on to state that Fowler and and former NFL receiver and Alabama State coach Reggie Barlow are two of the candidates for the Austin Peay vacancy.



Austin Peay athletic director Ryan Ivey was previously at Texas A&M-Commerce and knows Fowler. The Leaf-Chronicle reported Thursday that Ivey has said he hopes to have the position filled within two weeks.

Fowler led Tarleton to a share of the 2013 Lone Star Conference championship and was 30-32 in six years. The Leaf-Chronicle did touch on the tragedies that repeatedly struck the Tarleton since Fowler became head coach in 2010, stating, “Fowler, a former all-state football player, has led Tarleton State for six seasons, overseeing the reshaping of the team into a conference leader offensively and capturing a Lone Star Conference championship while overcoming tragedy after tragedy. In a five-year period the Division II program had five deaths of players and staff members.”

Fowler played college football at Murray State in Murray, Kentucky, less than 70 miles from Austin Peay, a member of the Ohio Valley Conference. APSU has lost 16 straight dating back to a win over Fowler’s alma mater on October 18, 2014. APSU has lost 34 of 35 since winning two of its last three to finish 2-9 in 2012. The last winning season at APSU came in 2007.



Tarleton named Todd Whitten its head coach for the third time on Thursday and formally introduced him during a Friday morning press conference.

Whitten was head coach at Tarleton in 1996 and again from 2000-04 and is the winningest coach in the modern era of the university with a record of 45-23. He led Tarleton to a share of the LSC league-wide championship in 2001 and to three LSC divisional titles.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply