Stingerettes earn honors at camp, prepare for upcoming year



Rachel Tuggle

STEPHENVILLE (August 8, 2016) – The Stephenville HS Stingerettes are gearing up for the 2016 football season. Last week they attended their annual summer camp, hosted by Danceline USA, and individual dancers won multiple awards. This week the dancers begin two-a-days.

“I’m looking forward to the new team growing together and putting on a new set of wonderful dances for the community,” Stingerette director Kim Kelsey said.

Spectators can expect to see some new styles during halftime this year. In addition, to kick, chair, pom, Daddy-daughter dance and prop, the Stingerettes will be performing a field jazz routine. Additionally, instead of performing a homecoming production, the team will perform a “patriotic” prop production in honor of Veteran’s Day and the November elections.

This year, there are 50 girls on the team – four managers, five captains and 41 line members. The captains are junior Kassidy Cowles, junior Rebecca Tuggle, senior Kaitlin Garcia, senior Maurie Dodson and head captain senior Cassidy Balder.

“I’m excited that it’s my senior year and [for] all the dances we are going to be doing, especially the ones we learned at camp,” head captain Cassidy Balder said. “The dances we learned at camp are just amazing.”

At camp last week, the Stingerettes learned choreography for football and competition, conditioned, practiced dance skills and worked on team bonding. The awards they earned are as follows:

Star Performance Awards

Jazz- Blake Been and Landry Stroebel

Kick- Paytin Beyer, Kassidy Cowles and Emily Miller

Modern- Summer Greer, Tara Garza and Rebecca Tuggle

Lyrical- Maurie Dodson and Sara Ratliff


KIRRF Character Awards

Kindness- Devra Winslow

Integrity- Adriana Moreno

Respect- Alex Cameron

Responsibility- Victoria Permann

Faith- Kelli Murphy


Staff Awards

Showmanship- Bailey Sanderford

Technique- Kassidy Pack

Lovely Leader- Cassidy Balder

Enthusiasn- Myla Childers

Butterfly- Savanah Beavers

Water Break Champ- Sydney Russell

Dedication Diva- Mary Shewmaker and Kaitlin Garcia

Happy Helpers- managers Aliera Evans, Andrea Esparza, Maddie Hall and Stasia Holmes


Team voted AJC Award of Excellence MVP- Riley Cosby

Elite Team- Cassidy Balder, Savanah Beavers, Blake Been, Paytin Beyer, Alex Cameron, Kassidy Cowles, Maurie Dodson, Tara Garza, Summer Greer, Adriana Ibarra, Amanda Jones, Emily Miller, Kelli Murphy, Kassidy Pack, Grace Rogers, Landry Stroebel, Rebecca Tuggle and Chrysann Whitworth

IMG_0350 IMG_0351IMG_0360 IMG_0369 IMG_0372 IMG_0373 IMG_0375IMG_0359


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply