National Society of Collegiate Scholars inducts inaugural Tarleton students

STEPHENVILLE (November 13, 2017) — The newly chartered chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) at Tarleton State University inducted its first class of students Thursday, Nov. 9, during a ceremony presided over by Sankaya Hall, associate director of chapter development for the honors organization.

Tarleton’s newly established NSCS chapter inducted 17 students as part of its inaugural class. Founded in 1994 at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C., the NSCS is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high achievers.

NSCS provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities and awards $1 million in scholarships annually to students across the U.S. NSCS members are deeply committed to scholarship, leadership and service and, as a result, impact their campus and local communities each day.

Tarleton’s chapter was founded in summer 2017 and is advised by Dr. Elizabeth Wallace, director for Academic Support Initiatives and Division Resource Center.

Inaugural inductees at Tarleton are: Timber Allenbrand, Tristen Anderson, Ashton Brazeau, Travis Bulerski, Christopher Bullington, Lauren Butler, Cheyenne Camp, Ashleigh Cooper, Austin DeLaVergne, Quanecia Fraser, Levi Gage, Tali Grant, Samantha Hernandez, Kelcey McKinley, Hannah Mooney, Natalya Oliver, Sienna Poore, Ryon Pourner, Jamie Pytlik, Lauren Schingle, Peyton Thomas, Onyinye Uzoka and Vanessa Villeda.

The inaugural class of members for Tarleton State University’s chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) were inducted during a ceremony held Nov. 9.
The chapter also bestowed honorary membership to several Tarleton faculty and staff members who were instrumental in assisting the chapter to receive its charter from the national organization. Honorary inductees are: Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Laura Boren; Tarleton Station Postal Clerk Malissa Laughlin; Academic Resource Center director Dr. Patrick Stoker; Assistant Professor of Geography Dr. Zubair Opeyemi, and Dr. Wallace, chapter advisor.

Serving as the Tarleton chapter’s first president is Tali Grant, junior environmental science major from College Station, Texas. Sienna Poore, a sophomore majoring in criminal justice from Wichita Falls, Texas, is the chapter’s executive vice president.

The NSCS is the only honor society to recognize outstanding academic achievement among first- and second-year college students. Membership is by invitation only, offered to those freshmen and sophomore students who carry a 3.4 grade point average (GPA) or higher and rank in the top 20 percent of their college class.

With active chapters at more than 330 colleges and universities in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, the NSCS has as its goal to honor, inspire and engage. Chapters are involved in service to their campuses and communities, as well as in scholastic and social activities.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply