LSC to host annual Football Media Day in San Antonio today


The Lone Star Conference is holding its annual football preseason media day today, in San Antonio, Texas.

With the 2018 season upcoming, all nine football head coaches will be in San Antonio for a luncheon with the media. During the event, league officials will announce the preseason poll and players of the year.

The day begins with registration followed by lunch, a brief program, remarks from each football coach and student-athlete and an open interview session.


The event will be streamed live via Facebook at starting at 12 p.m.

The season kicks off Thursday, August 30 and the LSC has nine teams, with each team playing eight conference games to determine the LSC Champion.

In 2017, Texas A&M-Commerce won its first-ever NCAA Division II National Championship over West Florida (37-27). A&M-C is the second team in LSC history to win a NCAA Division II Football National Championship. The Lions join Texas State (formerly Southwest Texas), who won the title in 1981 and 1982.

Midwestern State earned its fourth league title with an 8-0 record last season.

Four LSC teams participated in postseason play last season, with A&M-C and MSU advancing to the NCAA Division II playoffs, Angelo State playing in the C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl, and Tarleton State in the Corsicana Bowl.

2018 LSC Football Preseason Media Day Attendees:

Angelo State
Will Wagner, head football coach
Grant Aschenbeck (LB, Sr., East Bernard, Texas)
Blake Harrison (OL, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas)

Eastern New Mexico
Kelley Lee, head football coach
Wyatt Strand (QB, R-Jr., Logan, N.M.)
Brad Hardin (LB, Grad, Aztec, N.M.)

MSU Texas
Bill Maskill, head football coach
Sir’Vell Ford (S, Sr., Richmond, Texas)
AJ Roland (OL, Sr., Sachse, Texas)
Layton Rabb (QB, Sr., Llano, Texas)

Todd Whitten, head football coach
Xavier Turner (RB, Sr., North Richland Hills, Texas)
Tyrell Thompson (DL, Sr., Copperas Cove, Texas)

Texas A&M-Commerce
Colby Carthel, head football coach
Garrett Blubaugh (LB, R-Jr., Keller, Texas)
Kristov Martinez (K, Sr., Edinburg, Texas)
Brucks Saathoff (LB, Sr., San Antonio, Texas)

Texas A&M-Kingsville
Daren Wilkinson, head football coach
Brandon Jones (DL, Sr., Houston, Texas)
Torrey Thomas (TE, Sr., Katy, Texas)

UT Permian Basin
Justin Carrigan, head football coach
Jared Thames (DT, Sr., Glen Rose, Texas)
Marquee Allison (LB, Sr., Cibolo, Texas)

West Texas A&M
Hunter Hughes, head football coach
Gerred Johnson (DL, R-Jr., Mansfield, Texas)
Jordan Johnson (FB, R-Jr., Eagle Lake, Texas)

Western New Mexico
Frank Tristan, head football coach
Blayne Armstrong (QB, Jr., Marshfield, Missouri)
James Lee (DE, Jr., Bayard, NM)

About debug 971 Articles
Debug user

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply