Tarleton record setter Meyers named LSC Receiver of Year

Stephenville product Barnes selected first-team kicker

Le'Nard Meyers set the Tarleton State career receiving touchdowns record with his 26th on this play in his final game against Oklahoma Panhandle State last Saturday at Memorial Stadium. || TheFlashToday.com photo by RUSSELL HUFFMAN

TheFlashToday.com NEWS & SPORTS – FREE & LOCAL



STEPHENVILLE (November 19, 2015) — Le’Nard Meyers capped off his Tarleton football career in a big way Thursday morning as the senior from Gatesville earned first-team all-LSC honors and was named the league Receiver of the Year.

“I’m very happy for Nardi,” said wide receivers coach Jonathan Beasley. “He has worked so hard for the past four years to get to this point and now he is seeing the results of his hard work. It has been a privilege and honor to coach him these past four years. He is a great young man and I wish him nothing but the best of luck in his future endeavors.”

Meyers is the second Texan to claim the top receiver honor from the Lone Star Conference since the award started in 2000. He joins Chris Chambers, who was named the LSC South Receiver of the Year in 2000, as the only Texans to claim the honor.

Le'Nard Meyers is the Lone Star Conference Receiver of the Year. || TheFlashToday.com photo by RUSSELL HUFFMAN
Le’Nard Meyers is the Lone Star Conference Receiver of the Year. || TheFlashToday.com photo by RUSSELL HUFFMAN

The senior from Gatesville led the Texans and the entire Lone Star Conference in receptions with 75 and yards per game with 103.4. He also led the league in receiving touchdowns with 15 and finished his career as the school’s all-time touchdown leader with 27 in his four years as a Texan.

Joining Meyers on the first team was senior kicker Blake Barnes, who led the league with a 72.7 field goal success percentage. Barnes will finish his Tarleton career as the all-time leader in Points After Touchdown makes and attempts, as well as being the school’s all-time scoring leader.

Brandon Moore claimed second-team honors from the LSC for his first career all-conference award while Nick Perez, Kody Travis, Latham Johnson, Chase Varnado, and Isaac Arellano were named honorable mention all-conference.

Moore, who earned the honor as an outside linebacker for his role as a rover in Tarleton’s defense, was sixth on the team in total tackles despite moving around between rover, safety, and cornerback this season. He total 49 total stops, including three for a loss and added a fumble recovery and a forced fumble.

Perez, Travis, and Johnson were mainstays on the offensive line and started every game for the Texans last season, meanwhile Varnado was a dominant Texan defender while playing in all 10 games. Varnado racked up 69 tackles, which was second on the team, including 13.5 for a loss and 5.5 sacks. He also had a defensive touchdown with a 48-yard fumble return against West Texas A&M.

Arellano finished his senior season with a 41.7 yards per punt average and wrapped up his Tarleton career as the top punter in Texan history to date with a 41.4 average per punt in his career, moving him past Scott Smith for the school’s all-time record.

Zed Woerner and Cody Burtscher also joined Arellano on the academic all-LSC squad.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.