SISD’s Hodges named finalist for a ‘Golden Apple’

SISD director of digital learning one of three up for Technology Specialist of the Year

Brianna Hodges || Twitter photo

Special to The Flash
Press Release

(January 11, 2017) — The Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA) announced earlier this month that Stephenville ISD’s Director of Digital Learning Brianna Hodges named one of three finalists for Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year.

TCEA’s “Golden Apple” Educator Awards have long-recognized excellence in the integration of technology in schools, honoring some of the most innovative and engaging educators in Texas.

Nominated by their peers, educators who compete for these awards are actively making a difference in their classrooms and on their campuses, innovating teaching and learning every day. Following nominations, an extensive panel review narrows the pool to 3 finalists.

The Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year Award recognizes exemplary technology and curriculum integration.

Hodges’ nomination was scored on a rubric that examined her:

  • Instructional leadership and impact on faculty members;
  • Demonstration of professional development for faculty and staff;
  • Student benefit as a promotion of innovative, engaging pedagogy-based use of technology;
  • Ability to advance shared vision and culture that inspires learning through creativity and technology for students and staff across the District.

“Mrs. Hodges is one of the best and most knowledgeable instructional technologist in Texas; she personifies the District’s core value of initiative,” said Matt Underwood, Superintendent of SISD. “What is truly amazing about this nomination is that she only in her second year in this position. Recognition from this statewide association, on this level, is a first for Stephenville ISD with this nomination.”

“I truly believe in the power that technology has to engage, inspire, and empower learning,” Hodges said. “It’s an honor to receive this recognition and be able to reflect the outstanding effort of our District for ensuring every student have the opportunity to be an iCHAMPION.”

Awards will be presented at a formal ceremony and reception in Austin on February 7.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply