Wipff, Burtscher awarded as LSC scholar-athletes

Graphic courtesy Tarleton Athletic Communications

STEPHENVILLE (June 19, 2017) – The annual Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award winners were announced on Monday, with two Tarleton student-athletes honored by league officials.

Bailey Wipff and Cody Burtscher were selected as by the LSC as the Scholar-Athlete award winners from Tarleton.

Wipff, a 3-year starter for TexAnn Basketball, was the LSC Academic Player of the Year and was named second-team All-LSC while guiding the TexAnns to the LSC tournament championship and the NCAA Tournament her senior year.

Burtscher, a four-year football letterman, was named the second player in Tarleton football history to earn All-America recognition from the American Football Coaches Association, as well as earning honorable mention All-America honors with the Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team. He was a CoSIDA first-team Academic All-America selection, D2CCA first-team all-region, first-team All-Lone Star Conference, academic All-LSC, and the Lone Star Conference Linebacker of the Year. Earlier this year, he was also named a national semifinalist for the National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell trophy and the national Cliff Harris Award that recognizes the top defensive players in the country.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and be a member of the graduating class.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.