Tarleton joining LSC in Odessa for preseason media day

Bubba Tandy, Todd Whitten and Chase Varnado represented Tarleton State at the 2016 LSC Football Media Day. It has not been announced who will join Whitten at the 11th annual event on July 27 in Odessa. || The Flash Today file photo

Flash Staff Report

(July 4, 2017) — Tarleton State is expecting big things from its football team in the second season since the return of head coach Todd Whitten.

On July 27 in Odessa, we learn what the rest of the Lone Star Conference expects at the 11th annual LSC Football Media Day. Unveiling of the preseason poll and awards highlight a program that begins at noon and will be streamed live at lonestarconference.org. Remarks from head coaches and top players from all nine teams will be followed by the presentation of LSC media awards.

Tarleton lost its final three games last season, tumbling from first in the LSC to a fifth-place tie with West Texas A&M. They were each 5-4 in league games with Tarleton improving to 5-6 overall after going just 3-7 in 2015, the last of five seasons under Cary Fowler. Whitten was also head coach at Tarleton in 1996 and from 2000-04. His 50 wins are the most by a Tarleton coach in the senior-college era dating back to 1961 and second most in school history behind W.J. Wisdom.


Texas A&M-Commerce and fifth-year head coach Colby Carthel celebrated their third straight LSC championship in 2016. Midwestern State was alone in second in 2015 and 2016 and tied Eastern New Mexico for second in 2014.

A&M-Kingsville and ENMU tied for third in 2016, followed by Tarleton and WTAMU. The bottom four were Angelo State, Western New Mexico, Oklahoma Panhandle State and UT-Permian Basin. OPSU has since dropped athletic scholarships and returned to the NAIA.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply