Bray named MVP, Dowell Defensive MVP as Huckabay dominates girls all-district team

Huckabay dominated District 18-A, and starting with MVP Presli Bray, also dominates the all-district team.

Flash Staff Report

STEPHENVILLE (March 1, 2018) — Huckabay was the dominant force in District 18-A girls basketball and continued to dominate in the playoffs until circling around to meet district-rival Lipan and getting past them a third time to qualify for a second straight regional tournament.

Dodd City ended the run in the regional semifinals again, but the Lady Indians celebrate a second straight spot among the Class A Sweet 16. Fittingly, they also dominate the spots on the 18-A girls All-District team released this week.

Presli Bray and Kailin Dowell have been among the top players in the district since they were freshmen. Fittingly, Bray, now a senior, is the 18-A MVP, while Dowell, who may be the leading MVP candidate entering 2018-19, is the Defensive MVP for the district.

They powered Huckabay to a No 4 statewide ranking and a 23-6 overall record, the bulk of those losses coming to teams from conferences 2A through 4A.


But they had plenty of help, too.

First-team all-disrict picks Trinity Meador and Ciara Philips help Dowell highlight a strong Class of 2019 at Huckabay, Emmy Rodriguez, also a first-team pick, is just a sophomore with two more years to terrorize opponents with her outside shooting presence.

Huckabay senior Savannah Graves, junior Brenna Yarbrough and freshman Destiny Cook take second-team honors, seniors Tiffany Lopez and Abby Fields as well as sophomore Madison Pearson join Lingleville freshmen Jordan Hicks and Sadie Allen on the honorable-mention list.

The entire all-district roster is below:



District MVP
Presli Bray   SR.      Huckabay

Offensive MVP
Laniey Dixon JR.     Gorman

Defensive MVP
Kailin Dowell   JR.   Huckabay

Newcomer of the Year
Madison Moudy   Fr.   Lipan

1st Team All-District
Ashley Wyatt   Sr.  Gordon
 Meador Jr.  Huckabay
Ciara Philips Jr.  Huckabay
Kelsie Guthrie So.  Gorman
Briana Landa Jr.  Gorman
Erin Price Jr.  Strawn
Hailey Ratliff Jr. Strawn
Taylor Clark Fr.  Lipan
Emmy Rodriguez So. Huckabay

2nd Team All-District
Ella Segura JR.  Gorman
M’kayla Lytle SR.  Gorman
Brailey Redwine   JR.   Lipan
Maggie Peacock   Fr.  Lipan
M’kayla Mallory Sr.  Strawn
Vanessa Martinez So.  Strawn
Brenna Yarbough Jr.  Huckabay
Destiny Cook Fr.  Huckabay


Honorable Mention
Madison Kline Jr.   Gordon
Sierra Jackson Jr.  Gordon
Lexi Summerhill Sr. Gordon
Neyda Herrera Sr. Gorman
Jessica Ramirez Sr. Gorman
Jesenia Rodriguez Jr Gorman
Kaylee Little Fr. Lipan
Joy Miller Sr. Lipan
Sara Ross Fr. Strawn
Karlee Mallory Fr. Strawn
Jordyn Hicks Fr. Lingleville
Sadie Allen Fr. Lingleville
Tiffany Lopez Sr. Huckabay
Abby Fields Sr. Huckabay
Madison Pearson So. Huckabay

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply