Hawley named to top 100 list for Bevo Francis Award for nation’s best small college player


STEPHENVILLE – Small College Basketball has named Tarleton’s Josh Hawley to the watch list for the 2019 Bevo Francis Award, an award given to the top small college men’s basketball player in the country.

The watch list consists of 100 players in the country who compete in the affiliations of NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA. The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.


“This was an extremely difficult process, and I am very thankful to our committee for their input and feedback on many players throughout the country,” said Small College Basketball Founder John McCarthy. “When we look out over the landscape of small college basketball, we’re trying to find the best of the best, based on our criteria, out of about 1,100 – 1,200 colleges and universities.

“As such, it’s a real honor to be included on this prestigious list. Each of the players on this list is in the midst of a heck of a season, and I congratulate each and every one of them.”

Hawley currently leads the Lone Star Conference in scoring and rebounding with 18 points and 10 rebounds per game. He’s the only player in the LSC to average a double-double and has an LSC-leading seven double-doubles in 16 games.

The junior forward from Irving is setting career highs shooting the ball. Hawley is shooting 61 percent from the floor, 44 percent on 3-pointers and 71 percent on free throws. He also averages 1.9 steals and 0.9 blocks per game this season.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on April 6.

The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 8. The award will be presented to the award winner on May 11 at the SCB National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City, Missouri. For the full Bevo Francis watch list, visit smallcollegebasketball.com.

About debug 971 Articles
Debug user

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply