Tarleton Athletics recognizes student-athletes with annual postseason awards banquet


STEPHENVILLE – Tarleton Athletics held its annual spring picnic to recognize athletes from all the sports during the 2018-19 athletic year on Monday evening.

The evening began with Tarleton President Dr. Dottavio recognizing the nine All-Purple award winners: Connie Wooley, Meldeene Elliott, Chad and Allison Fox, Nancy and Dave Turley, Mark Williams, Truman Bell, and Dr. Gary Westbrook. The All-Purple award was established in 1989 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated outstanding support of the Tarleton Athletics Program, the athletes and the university.


Following the presentation of the All-Purple awards, the head coaches honored their respective student-athletes by recapping their season and handing out team awards – as well as awards from the Lone Star Conference for league-wide recognition. The list of award winners includes:

Higgs Award – Ben Holmes

Offensive MVP – Xavier Turner
Defensive MVP – Jai Edwards
Special Teams MVP – Prince Robinson, Daniel McCants
Zach Shaver Award – Jordan Phillips
Higgs Award – Ben Holmes
Cheryl Spellmeier Award – Noah Perez
Coach Ronnie Giles Memorial Scholarship – Chase Livesay

VOLLEYBALL: MVP – Adrianna Knutson

MVP – Adrianna Knutson
Offensive Player of the Year – Adriana Darthuy
Defensive Player of the Year – Hannah McManus
Newcomer of the Year – Tatyana Tuialii-Umi
Texan Award – Hannah McManus, Elizabeth Muliaga, Blanca Izquierdo, Adrianna Knutson

MVP (Women) – Esmaralda Fuentes
MVP (Men) – Quenten Lasseter

MVP of the Track – Kylee Ponder
MVP of the Field – Jasmine McQuirter

MVP of the Track – Justin Botello
MVP of the Field – Rascellis Williams

MVP – Josh Hawley Defensive MVP – Josh Hawley

MVP – Josh Hawley
Defensive MVP – Josh Hawley
Newcomer of the Year – Randall Broddie
Texan Award – Isaiah Boling
Most Improved – Jesse Hill
All-Academic – Jesse Hill

TexAnn Award – Kylie Collins, Kandyn Faurie
MVP – Mackenzie Hailey
Offensive Player of the Year – McKinley Bostad
Defensive Player of the Year – Kaylee Allen
Heart and Hustle Award – Katie Webster
Student-Athlete Award – Hannah Hyde

MVP of the Track – Kylee Ponder
MVP of the Field – Jasmine McQuirter

MVP of the Track – Jamel Anderson
MVP of the Field – Rascellis Williams

Lowest Stroke Average – Casey Leatherman
Highest Team GPA – Breanna Smith

Outstanding Athletic Training Student – Nathalie de la Torre
Comeback Athlete of the Year – Shelby Fillingame
Sports Medicine Highest GPA – Katie Gibson

Commitment to Excellence – Mason Reichenau
Most Spirited Cheerleader – Victoria Baudendistel
Most Valuable Cheerleader – Ashleigh Fox
Academic MVP – Tori Esquivel
New Member of the Year – Brianna Davis


Men’s Basketball – Isaiah Boling
Women’s Basketball – Marissa Escamilla
Football Upperclassman – Brant Bailey, Devin Hafford
Football Freshman – Jaimon Byers
Volleyball – Kaleigh Conger
Baseball – Tyler Parker
Softball – Georgia Capell
Men’s Track & Field – Skyler Sandusky
Women’s Track & Field – T.K. Jones
Track & Field Throwers – Colton Wood
Golf – Casey Leatherman
Tennis – Alicia Barbaroux
Cheerleading – Victoria Baudendistel

** The baseball, softball and tennis programs withheld their postseason awards until the completion of their respective seasons.

In addition to the individual award winners, Tarleton also recognized 111 student-athletes who found success in the classroom. The Athletes Committed to Education (ACE) program honors student-athletes for excelling in the classroom as well as on the field or court.

The ACE recipients have met the following requirements:

• The student must have at least 30 credit hours
• The student must have a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.0.
• The student will be required to follow all the rules in the Student-Athlete Handbook.
• Awards will be given each spring semester

The following student-athletes were recognized as ACE award winners:

Easton Brown
Alex DeBell
Tyler Fowler
Brett Gilchrist
Stephen Jones
Jonathon Law
James Morris
Luke Morton
Abel Osoria
Tyler Parker
Jordan Parker
Sid Payan
Michael Pilato
Case Rolen
Sam Scarborough
Jacob Spence
Nathan Sumner
Hunter Thomas
Kade Turnage
Sam West
Corey Young

Isaiah Boling
Jesse Hill
Jaraan Lands
Sam Marshall
Ivan Tevin

Kaylee Allen
McKinley Bostad
Kylie Collins
Mackenzie Hailey
Hannah Hyde
Katie Webster

Brant Bailey
John Carlile
Bowie Franks
Chris Gibbens
Wesley Hooks
Mohamed Inoussa
Samuel Jackson
Derek Kiser
Darion Lewis
Matthew Mitchell
Cole Pettit
Stephen Reeves
Ron Reid
EJ Speed
Oliver Svirsky
Skyler Wetzel
Patrick Wisener

Junie Khaw
Casey Leatherman
Breanna Smith

Georgia Capell
Amanda Conner
Lexi Grimaldo
Karli Herron
Tanna Huie
Danyel Kesselus
Kadyn Kirkpatrick
Jessica Lee
Morgan Ling
Karlie Milburn
Elizabeth Svienty
Jessika Truax
Julia Wernet
Jordan Withrow
Kriesten Zuehl

Alicia Barbaroux
Shelby Fillingame
Neetika Sud

Chandee Bachmeyer
Justin Botello
Ande Carlton
Hayden Dibble
Kyle Doty
Jarred Elizondo
Gwyneth Garcia
Timothy Gowans
Rebekah Halepaska
Jeremy Hiesler
Karen James
Gretzel Jimenez
Lorenzo Jones
Takhra Jones
Rylan Kaufman
Hailey Martin
Jasmine McQuirter
Marlaina Morgan
William Norman
Bailey O’Connor
Dahmir Pearson
Kylee Ponder
Lightsey Puryear
Jessica Ramirez
Tylor Randell
Elena Regan
Amy Riera
Skyler Sandusky
Kamrynn Schiller
Arianna Stegall
Alexis Terry
Colton Troutman
Rascellis Williams
Tara Wynee

Charlotte Bradshaw
Kaleigh Conger
Blanca Izquierdo
Adrianna Knutson
Maci Matherne
Hannah McManus
Amber Strange

About debug 971 Articles
Debug user

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.