American Legion Post #240 2020 officer installation



American Legion Post & Auxiliary Unit 240 held their annual Awards & Officer Installation banquet Tuesday evening, July 16, for the purpose of recognizing the exceptional contributions of members and to Install officers for the 2020 membership year. 

Leading Post 240 during its Centennial year of 2020 will be Army & National Guard veteran of the Vietnam War era, Richard Petronis. Richard is a 25-year continuous service member of the American Legion and was elected to his second term as Post Commander having served in 2010

Leading Unit 240 in 2020 will be Martha Fredrickson, graduate of Abilene Christian College and retired schoolteacher, whose husband is Air Force Veteran and Legionnaire Keith Fredrickson. Martha’s myriad of talents will serve Unit 240 well as the Unit pursues established and new goals, including the planning and hosting of 2019 District Fall convention to be held in Stephenville. Francine Pratt, out-going President accepts Auxiliary Special Award from Martha.

Legionnaires being recognized for significant achievements were Bobby Evans who received an American Legion 50-year continuous service award. Bobby’s name was the first in 20-years to be added to the 50-year honorary plaque prominently wall mounted within Post 240 meeting room. 

As a teenager and student at Brownwood High School, Bobby first learned About the American Legion when his dad was responsible for managing the Legion’s Post canteen. Bobby was assigned the job of selling cokes and other soft drinks for the outrageous price of 10 cents per bottle. Graduating from High School Bobby joined the Marine Corp 1952 and served time in Korea & Indochina during his USMC service. 

He was honorably discharged from USMC and immediately joined the Army where he eventually earned and was assigned to Special Operations, serving in Vietnam during the early years of the war.  Bobby retired from military service and applying his G.I Bill benefit, earned a master’s degree in accounting. He served in Germany for many years as an auditor. It was in Germany where he met and married his wife Judy.

 Out-going Commander, Ron Henry, was pleased to present the Legionnaire of The Year Award to Walter Dotson. The award is presented each year in recognition of outstanding leadership and service. Walter, an Army Veteran of the Vietnam War Era, is the epitome of a Legionnaire fulfilling the purpose of 10th clause of The American Legions Constitution Preamble which is ‘To consecrate and sanctify our comradeship by our devotion to mutual helpfulness’.  

 No matter the cause, event or need, Walter responds in a pleasant, agreeable and non-controversial manner. Most recently, Walter assisted Legionnaire Rondoe Smith in the raffle ticket sales exhibit at Independence Day Parade and Celebration. Also, He was one of the first to arrive at City Park to help Legionnaire Sid Moon prepare Post 240 parade entry float arriving at 6:30 AM. Walter joined other Legionnaires for a ride on the float that began at 9 and ended 11:30 a.m. when the float finally returned to park. Walter returned to the Park at 3 PM to help Rondoe Smith set-up Pop-up Tent for raffle ticket selling. Rondo & Walter closed the sales at 10 PM when raffle winner was announced from pavilion stage. Walter & Rondo sold 103 Tickets. Truly a long and productive day for Post 240 Legionnaires Walter Dotson & Rondoe Smith

Evening event closed with the swearing-in of 2020 officers. 

American Legion Department of Texas Past Division 4 Auxiliary President, Rachael Watson, of Post 163 in Weatherford, issued the oath of office to the following Auxiliary Unit 240 incoming 2020 officers (L-R) Barbara Moser, Chaplain/Historian; Decie Jones, Member at Large; Jan Anderson, Vice president; Joanna Lay, Treasurer; Johnnie Ratliff, Member at Large; Francine Pratt, Secretary; Martha Fredrickson; Jeanne Moon, Sgt At Arms; Janis Petronis, Member at Large.

American Legion Department of Texas Past Vice Commander, Bret Watson, of Post 163 in Weatherford, issued the oath of office to the following Post 240 members: (L-R) Post Commander, Richard Petronis; First Vice Commander, Jimmy Finney; 2nd Vice Commander, Greg Thompson; Adjutant , Roger Easter; Chaplain, Matt Hallgarth; Service Officer, Ileah Kirkham and Sgt At Arms, Sid Moon.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.