Tarleton’s Bowers named a Chancellor Academy of Teacher Educator


STEPHENVILLE — Tarleton State University professor Dr. Sharon Tiffany Bowers has been named a recipient of The Texas A&M University System Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators Award.

Established in 2011, the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educator award honors individuals from  A&M System universities who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education and highlights the System’s role in producing K-12 teachers for Texas.

“Dr. Bowers was selected for the esteemed award because of her teaching excellence, innovative teaching, scholarship and service associated with teacher preparation in kinesiology,” said Tarleton Provost Karen Murray.

“She is an impactful member in the School of Kinesiology’s Department of Sport Science. Through her role as a mentor for both her peers and students, she creates a positive culture and environment for the entire teaching program. Dr. Bowers is involved with an abundance of activities that enhance teacher preparation. She is a recognized, certified leader in Adapted Physical Education.”

Tarleton’s Engaged Faculty Award recipient for 2019, Bowers serves as the Coordinator of the Physical Education Teacher Education concentration in the School of Kinesiology’s Department of Sport Science.

She has developed and maintained reciprocal campus-community partnerships where Tarleton students: plan and implement quality physical education experiences with Erath County homeschool students; serve as event facilitators and athlete buddies for Stephenville ISD Special Olympics; and participate in sport and recreation activities with Rock House clients and the Tarleton Recreation Center.

Since 2014, Bowers has served as director of Rock the Gym, a biannual event specifically designed for school-age (EC-12) individuals with disabilities. Tarleton students develop and facilitate gross-, fine- and sensory-motor activities, and interact with participants during the event. She currently serves as a Civic Engagement and Service Learning (CESL) Fellow, who facilitate the development of effective learning experiences, rooted in high impact practices and sustainable campus-community partnerships, to support teaching, research, and community development.

She joins a group of distinguished Tarleton educators, including Drs. Wendell Sadler, Beth Riggs, Vicky Johnson, Joe Gillespie, James Gentry, David Frazier and Maria Castaneda as previous CATE honorees.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply