Tarleton has 18 Texans named LSC Track and Field All-Conference


STEPHENVILLE – Following last weekend’s showing at the Lone Star Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships in Lubbock, Tarleton had 18 student-athletes named to the league’s all-conference list Wednesday afternoon.

The list of all-conference performers includes the first team, which consists of event winners, all members of the winning relay teams, and athletes scoring 14 or more points at the LSC Championships.  The second team includes athletes on the second-place relay teams and those scoring 8-13.9 points, while the third team recognizes members of third-place relay teams and athletes scoring 6-7.9 points.

Tarleton had four women recognized as All-LSC First Team award winners – Jenna Brazeal and the Women’s Distance Medley Relay that included Brazeal, Kylee Ponder, Taylor Richards and Haley Dennard. Brazeal’s first-team honor came on the strength of a first-place in the mile with a school-record time of 5:13.05 while the women’s DMR also won a gold medal with a time of 12:33.36.

Jasmine McQuirter was the lone woman to earn second-team All-LSC with 11 total points in the meet while the men had nine All-LSC Second Team honorees – Alan Palmer, Kevin Baez, Anterius Brown, Cornelius Coleman, Mikel Stone, Colton Troutman, Michael Simcho, Brandon McKissick and Quenten Lasseter.

Rounding out the award-winning Texans were four female student-athletes – Emily Castleberry, Kamrynn Schiller, Jordan Anglin and Alessa King.

The qualifiers for the NCAA Division II Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championships will be announced on March 3 on NCAA.com.  The NCAA championships are March 13-14 in Birmingham, Alabama at the Birmingham CrossPlex.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.