Tarleton math students capture awards at annual conference


STEPHENVILLE — Tarleton State University math students presented at a pair of recent conferences and brought home three awards.

Seven students and four faculty members traveled to the Texas Academy of Science Meeting at Stephen F. Austin Feb. 28 and 29.

Jaryd Domine captured first place and the Amir Moez Award in mathematics and computer science section with his presentation “N-Body Adaptive Optimization of Lattice Towers.”

Mason McCallum’s talk, “N-body Simulation of Contact Binary Star Evolution Using Nvidia GPUs” took first in the physics and engineering oral presentation category.

Shawn Brody came in second in the graduate student oral presentation competition with his presentation “Big Jumps or Little Steps: Fighting Gerrymandering with Random Walks.”

Tarleton State University students, from left, Shawn Brody, Jaryd Domine and Mason McCallum won awards at the recent Texas Academy of Science Meeting at Stephen F. Austin University.

Tarleton’s Dr. Scott Cook, assistant professor of mathematics and coordinator of the math graduate program, accompanied the team and served as vice chair of the math and computer science section and will serve as chair of the section for next year’s meeting.

Assistant professor of math, Dr. Chris Mitchell, was elected vice chair for the 2021 meeting.

Ten students also presented at the Texas Oklahoma Regional Undergraduate Symposium at Cameron University Feb. 15.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.