Bailey, Withrow named LSC Scholar-Athletes


STEPHENVILLE – Tarleton’s Brant Bailey and Jordan Withrow were among the student-athletes across 17 league schools to be recognized as Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athletes Tuesday afternoon.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at member institutions. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and be a member of the graduating class.

Bailey just completed his four-year football career with the Texans and was an integral part of turning Tarleton into a national powerhouse. He is a four-time All-LSC award winner and was a Don Hansen All-Region Third Team tight end last season. In his career, Bailey played in 47 games and caught 35 passes for 434 yards and three touchdowns. As a blocking tight end, he helped the Texan offense to a school-record 4,031 yards on the ground in 2018.

Withrow is the Lone Star Conference’s back-to-back Academic Player of the Year and a two-time All-American. She is a two-time Easton/NFCA All-American Scholar Athlete and finished her career as the Tarleton leader in wins (71) and strikeouts (676). The right-hander from Trenton was 12-3 with a 1.63 ERA when the season came to an end in March and had just thrown her third career no-hitter in a 3-0 victory over No. 2 UT Tyler in Tarleton’s home opener prior to the season’s abrupt end in March.

Tarleton is in it’s final month as a member of the Lone Star Conference following a 26-year run as a league member in NCAA Division II. Tarleton State University will join the Western Athletic Conference (WAC), FCS Football (Independent) and NCAA Division I on July 1, 2020.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply