Williams named to WAC All-Defensive team


ARLINGTON – Tarleton baseball center fielder Alec Williams was honored by the league’s coaches for his defensive play during the 2023 season, the Western Athletic Conference announced on Monday.

Williams was one of 10 student-athletes from across the WAC to be named to the all-defensive team and just one of three outfielders.

Williams, a senior from Huntsville, Texas, was stellar in center field, consistently using his speed to keep opponents off the base paths.

He made no errors on the season, posting a 1.000 fielding percentage to pair with 85 putouts in his second season in Stephenville.

Williams was also impressive at the plate for Tarleton, leading the Texans in WAC play with a .372 batting average. In conference play alone he had a .479 on-base percentage, 29 hits, 11 RBI and 11 stolen bases which was good for third in the conference.

A Tyler JC transfer, Williams added to his collection of defensive awards as he was previously named the 2021 NJCAA Division III Defensive Player of the Year at TJC.

The award was the lone postseason honor Tarleton baseball picked up from the conference.

2023 WAC Baseball Awards (as voted by the conference’s 13 head coaches)

WAC Player of the Year
Grayson Tatrow, Sr., OF, Abilene Christian

WAC Pitcher of the Year
Liam Rocha, Jr., RHP, California Baptist

WAC Freshman of the Year
Wehiwa Aloy, SS, Sacramento State

WAC Defensive Player of the Year
Jacob Wilson, Jr., SS, Grand Canyon

WAC Coach of the Year
Gregg Wallis, Grand Canyon

All-WAC First Team
SP – Liam Rocha, Jr., RHP, California Baptist
SP – Daniel Avitia, So., RHP, Grand Canyon
SP – Casey Anderson, Jr., RHP, Utah Valley
RP – Chandler David, Jr., RHP, Sam Houston
C – Martin Vincelli-Simard, Sr., Sacramento State
1B – Tyler Davis, Sr., Sam Houston
1B – Brandon Pimentel, Grad, UTRGV
2B – Daniel Dickinson, Fr., Utah Valley
3B – Justin Wishkoski, Jr., Sam Houston
SS – Jacob Wilson, Jr., Grand Canyon
OF – Grayson Tatrow, Sr., Abilene Christian
OF – Homer Bush Jr., Jr., Grand Canyon
OF – Joe Redfield, Jr., Sam Houston
DH – JP Smith, Fr., Sacramento State

All-WAC Second Team
SP – Zach Thornton, Jr., LHP, Grand Canyon
SP – Coltin Atkinson, Jr., RHP, Sam Houston 
SP – Angelo Cabral, Jr., RHP, UTRGV
RP – Brodie Cooper-Vassalakis, Grad, RHP, Grand Canyon
C – Michael Carpentier, So., California Baptist
1B – Zach Yorke, Fr., Grand Canyon
2B – Kevin Jimenez, Sr., NM State
3B – Mitchel Simon, Jr., California Baptist
3B – Christian Perez, Fr., NM State
SS – Wehiwa Aloy, Fr., Sacramento State
OF – Dusty Garcia, Sr., California Baptist
OF – Keith Jones II, Jr., NM State
OF – Matt Boissoneault, Sr., Seattle U
DH – Ryan Black, Fr., UT Arlington

WAC All-Defensive Team
OF – Logan Britt, Jr., Abilene Christian
IF – Garret Ostrander, Jr., California Baptist
IF – Emilio Barreras, Fr., Grand Canyon
OF – Cade Verdusco, Jr., Grand Canyon
SS – Jacob Wilson, Jr., Grand Canyon
1B – Zach Yorke, Fr., Grand Canyon
C – Nick Gore, Jr., NM State
OF – Alec WIlliams, Jr., Tarleton
2B – Isaac Lopez, So., UTRGV
1B/OF – Brandon Pimentel, Grad, UTRGV

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.