Tarleton grad Dwain Mayfield honored as Texas A&M distinguished alumnus

Dr. A. Dwain Mayfield
STEPHENVILLE (October 11, 2018) — Tarleton State University graduate A. Dwain Mayfield, has been named a distinguished alumnus of Texas A&M University for his dedication to both schools. Mayfield and eight other 2018 honorees were celebrated last week at a gala hosted at Reed Arena on the Texas A&M campus in College Station.

“We are looking for people who have risen to the pinnacle of their profession and made a difference in both their communities and our university,” said Kathryn Greenwade, vice president of The Association of Former Students at Texas A&M.

Mayfield earned an associate degree at Tarleton in 1957, then bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from Texas A&M and a master’s in business administration from TCU. He received an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Tarleton last spring for his involvement with students and his philanthropic support.

His professional career spanned more than 40 years in the aerospace industry. He played a major role in the success of the F-16 fighter jet as an engineer at Fort Worth’s General Dynamics, now Lockheed Martin, advancing to vice-president of program development where he was in charge of worldwide marketing.

Mayfield serves on the board of directors for the Tarleton Foundation Inc., is an adviser to the university’s aeronautical team and a member of the Dean’s Circle for the College of Science and Technology. He also serves on the School of Engineering’s Engineering Advisory Board. He and wife Lynda established an endowed scholarship at Tarleton for engineering students.

Mayfield has chaired the board of The Association of Former Students at Texas A&M and served as a member of A&M’s President’s Advisory Council and the Dwight Look College of Engineering Advisory Council. He is a member of the A&M University System Chancellor’s Century Council.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award has been given annually by Texas A&M and The Association of Former Students since 1962. To date, only 281 of Texas A&M’s 477,000 former students are recipients of the honor.

Among the others honored Friday were Texas A&M System Chancellor John Sharp and musician Robert Earl Keen.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply