Tarleton celebrates athletic success

Wisdom Gym South was full of Tarleton State student-athletes, coaches, support groups and fans for Monday's all-sports awards banquet. || BRAD KEITH/TheFlashToday.com


TheFlashToday.com NEWS & SPORTS – FREE & LOCAL

STEPHENVILLE (April 28, 2015) — Tarleton State honored its student-athletes Monday evening with its annual all-sports awards banquet.

The potential for inclement weather forced the event indoors to Wisdom Gym South, but couldn’t put a damper on the spirits after a year of success on the playing fields and courts as well as in the classroom.

Tarleton named team MVP’s and much more, while seven supporters of the athletic department joined the ranks of All-Purple Award winners.




Here are athletic and academic honors bestowed:

Offensive MVP – Nick Perez
Defensive MVP – Charles Moore
Special Teams MVP – Bubba Tandy
Offensive Most Improved – Tyler Wright
Defensive Most Improved – Chase Varnado
Zach Shaver Award – Chase Varnado
Higgs Award – Collin Strahan
Buddy Fornes Award – Marc Martinez

Team MVP – Katie Covell & Hailey Roberts
Offensive MVP – Hailey Roberts
Defensive MVP – Katie Covell
Newcomer of the Year – Kenya Alexander
TexAnn Award – Jasmyne Brown

Women’s MVP – Tylo Farrar
Men’s MVP – Thorne Pettigrew

Team MVP – Mo Lee
Texan Award – Davene Carter
Most Improved – Michael Hardge
Hustle Award – Damion Clemons
Newcomer of the Year – EJ Reed
All-Academic – Jakob Damstra
Defensive MVP – Damion Clemons

Team MVP – Kathy Thomas
Defensive MVP – Karli Moore
TexAnn Award – Raven McGrath & Bailey Wipff
Most Improved – Travanti Downes
Hustle Award – Karli Moore
Outstanding Rebounder – Ikpeaku Iwobi

CHEER (Co-Ed):
Newcomer of the Year – Emily Bauer
Cheerleader of the Year – Kirstin Reichenau
Most Improved – Jonathon Reich
Best All-Around – Lauren Geis

CHEER (All-Girl):
Newcomer of the Year – Corissa Sandoval
Cheerleader of the Year – Autumn White
Most Improved – Sarah Robinson
Best All-Around – Amber Bishop

Women’s MVP (Field) – Euphemia Edem
Women’s MVP (Track) – Shelby Greenwalt
Men’s MVP (Field) – Kenny Odunaiya
Men’s MVP (Track) – Chase Rathke

Women’s MVP (Field) – Danyelle Dillard
Women’s MVP (Track) – DeAijha Hicks-Boyce
Men’s MVP (Field) – Kenny Odunaiya
Men’s MVP (Track) – Randall Kadlacek

Team MVP – Isabel Jimenez-Perea
Newcomer of the Year – Casey Wild & Sarah Gee

Football (Upperclassman) – Chase Varnado
Football (Freshman) – Jamarquis Durst
Men’s Basketball – Jacob Morales
Women’s Basketball – Ikpeaku Iwobi
Volleyball – Macie Walker
Baseball – Kevin Meredith
Softball – Katelyn Conlee
Men’s Track and Field – Peyton Best
Women’s Track and Field – Deylinn Garrett
Track and Field Throwers – Zachary Pratt
Cross Country – Lauren Finley
Tennis – Luiza Ferraro-Adas
Cheerleading – Kirstin Reichenau
Golf – Sarah Gee
Athletic Performance Student Intern – Leonard “Leo” Burks

Sports Medicine Comeback Athlete – Lauren Powers, Softball
Sports Medicine Association Award – Kassandra Soto
Sports Medicine Athletic Training Award – Tayler Dray

Tarleton State’s Baseball, Softball and Tennis programs did not distribute awards Monday night and will give out team awards at the end of the semester.

The awards banquet also featured the first year of the ACE awards, presented by Tarleton’s Academic Coordinator BJ Simmons. The ACE program, which stands for Athletes Committed to Education, recognized over 100 student-athletes who excelled in the classroom, as well as in their respective sport this season. The list of ACE honorees includes:

Quade Adams
Zach Allen
Rebeka Allen
Isaac Arellano
Morgan Ashmore
Blain Bagley
Ariel Ballard
Marissa Banda
Peyton Best
Patrick Bettiol
Jonathan Blair
Ty Branch
Sarah Brown
Henry Brown
Colton Burleson
Cody Burtscher
Stefan Campos
Andrew Clark
Cooper Cole
Katelyn Conlee
Aly Coughlin
Brayden Coverdale
Cassandra Cutbirth
Jakob Damstra
Haley Dennard
Danyelle Dillard
Travanti Downes
Tye Doty
Euphemia Edem
Blake Eschbach
Tylo Farrar
Luiza Ferraro-Adas
Lauren Finley
Taylor Fitzgerald
Leanne Flores
Kason Fornes
Trent Gow
Shelby Greenwalt
Seth Hallmark
Phillip Hayes
Shelby Hedrick
Brenna Hennan
Zach Henshaw
Dakota Hesskew
Robert Hinton
Cade Hitzfeld
Alec Humphreys
Andrew Jacobi
Isabel Jimenez-Perea
Brianna Johnson
Jordan Jones
Randall Kadlacek
BJ Kinsel
Derek Kiser
Cameron Krc
Eythan Lenz
Marc Martinez
Melody Mayse
Raven McGrath
Morgan McKee
Brandon Moore
Charles Moore
Karli Moore
Jacob Morales
Cody Nitson
Larry Osterman
Robert Pereira
Tyler Pettit
Lauren Powers
Ashley Rine
Alyssa Ringhausen
Jaylon Roberts
Evan Robinson
Sam Scarborough
Jonathan Schmitz
Collin Scribner
Luke Scribner
Audrey Shelton
Amanda Smith
Savannah Stech
Mikayla Stogsdill
Collin Strahan
Kaitlyn Thomas
Jessie Thompson
Marquis Thompson
Kody Travis
Meg Umbel
Whitney Uselton
Sarah Vann
Chase Varnado
Dalton Vondra
Macie Walker
Dalton Weeks
Marissa Westbrook
Kaitlyn White
Darren Wicker
Conner Wilkes
Dylan Willett
Mitch Williams
Bailey Wipff
Zed Woerner
Tom Wolfe
Tyler Wright

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.