Erath County Sheriff’s Office hosts first ever “Safety Camp” for local youth



ERATH COUNTY (August 12, 2015) — A few months ago, Erath County Sheriff Tommy Bryant had an idea – introducing local kids to safety and local law enforcement with the fun of a summer camp.

Now, in the heat of summer, several members of local agencies gathered to help put on, what the Erath County Sheriff’s Office hopes is, the first of many annual “Sheriff Bryant’s Summer Safety Camp” with the help of organizer ECSO office manager Judith Riola. According to officials with the SO, the camp, which was Monday and Tuesday from 9 a.m. until noon both days, was a great success.

Approximately 35 children attended Safety Camp, including many from Foster’s Home for Children. Camp covered topics like fire safety – taught by Erath County Volunteer Fire Rescue, emergency medical information taught by Erath County EMS and so much more.



After meeting with Erath County Fire and EMS, campers were allowed into the Sheriff’s Office where Narcotic Investigator Sergeant Cameron Ray and Riola present ovarious operations conducted by ECSO with the help of Sergeant Greg Stewart.

Sheriff Bryant and Ray said their office was “looking for more ways to each out to local youth and help them in every way possible.” They hope this camp will be another way the sheriff’s office can do just that. This year, the office was able to provide each camper with a t-shirt and lunch both days as well.



At the Erath County Sheriff’s Office, we are trying to find ways to reach out of the youth of the county to help them in any way possible,” Ray said. “This camp is the first part of a bigger plan to bring law enforcement closer to the youth of Erath County.”

Other officers assisting with Safety Camp were Deputy Robert Moore, Captain Jack Carr of the Erath County Sheriff’s Office. ECVFR Firefighters Tyler Howle, Keith Howell, Tommy Shelton and Chris Elston also helped with camp. As well as Erath County EMS personnel Kiela Whitten, Hunter Harbold, Steve Cole, Terry Bishop, Amanda Miller, Jay Berry, Chereen Stewart, Kade Watson and Mikey Moss.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply