Tarleton Leadership, Service Award recipients announced at annual banquet


STEPHENVILLE (April 19, 2016) — Tarleton State University campus leaders, student achievers and community supporters were honored April 16 during the 20th annual Leadership and Service Awards banquet.

Hosted by Tarleton’s Division of Student Life, the ceremony recognizes those who contributed to a successful year, including community and civic leaders.

The John Tarleton Spirit Award—named in honor of the university’s founder—honors juniors, seniors or graduate students who best exemplify the spirit of Tarleton through involvement, participation and leadership. Recipients this year were: Tyler Daniels, Andrew Hatcher, Courtney Hathorne, Angelica Iraheta, Grace Lopez, Madison Paradis, Marissa Peña, Rachel Plunk, Emily Roberts, Lura Rylant, Derek Soper and Sean Strickland.

Other top awards also bear the name of individuals who have had a significant impact on Tarleton.

Dr. W.O. and Florence Trogdon have two awards named in their honor, for Individual and Organizational Service. Dr. Trogdon served as Tarleton’s 12th president. This year’s Individual Service award was presented to Andrew Hatacher. The Organizational Service award went to Tarleton’s Xi Nu Chapter of the Delta Zeta sorority.

The May Jones Advisor of the Year award, presented to an advisor with exemplary leadership and dedication to his or her organizations, recognizes the longtime member of the Tarleton faculty who served as sponsor to countless campus organizations. This year’s recipient is Margaret Risher, advisor to the Tarleton Anime Club.

Honoring one of Tarleton’s Distinguished Alumni, the Col. Will L. Tate Organization of the Year award, was presented to the Delta Zeta sorority.

The Program of the Year award recognizes the organization that conducts the most creative and innovative activity or program during the year. Program of the Year honors went to members of Tarleton Serves and its Alternative Spring Break trip for their weeklong volunteer efforts in and around Columbia, S.C., where students assisted residents in flood recovery, home renovations and a hiking trail restoration project within the Santee National Wildlife Refuge.

Freshman and Sophomore Participation awards are given to the two underclassmen who are most actively involved in all aspects of campus life. This year’s outstanding freshman award was presented to Andres J. Vasquez and the outstanding sophomore award to Cecilia Flores.

The sisters of Delta Zeta sorority also received this year’s Award for Fraternal Excellence. The awards are presented to a nationally affiliated Greek fraternity or sorority at Tarleton that symbolizes the excellence of the Greek system.

Following is a complete list of Leadership and Service Award winners announced at the 2016 ceremony:

Freshman Participation Award
Andres J. Vasquez

Sophomore Participation Award
Cecilia Flores

Award for Fraternal Excellence
Delta Zeta

Organization Impact Award
Delta Phi Epsilon

Greek Man of the Year
Tyler Daniels – Sigma Chi fraternity

Greek Woman of the Year
Courtney Hathorne – Delta Zeta sorority

Leadership in Athletics Award
Tarleton TexAnn Softball Team, Julie Mata – Head Coach

Program of the Year
“Alternative Spring Break” – Tarleton Serves

May Jones Advisor of the Year
Margaret Risher – Tarleton Anime Club

W.O. & Florence Trogdon Individual Service Award
Andrew Hatcher

W.O. & Florence Trogdon Organizational Service Award
Delta Zeta

Col. Will L. Tate Organization of the Year
Delta Zeta sorority

Dr. Wanda Mercer Tarleton Legend Award
Kendyl Adams and Sean Strickland

Student Life Award
Dr. Mike Leese

John Tarleton Spirit Awards
Tyler Daniels, Andrew Hatcher, Courtney Hathorne, Angelica Iraheta, Grace Lopez, Madison Paradis, Marissa Peña, Rachel Plunk, Emily Roberts, Lura Rylant, Derek Soper and Sean Strickland

TTS and TTP ‘Purple Poo’ senior recognition and unmasking
Jeremy Ratcliffe, Madison Paradis, Ulises Godinez, Kaleigh Colbert, Austin Eoff, Raeven Zamarron, Courtney Hathorne, Marissa Waldon, Cade Flory, Kelby Mitchell, Luke Rohrbach, Lupita Ortega, Kalli Vil and Falysha Williams

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.