Tarleton honors student-athletes to end year

Tarleton State President Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio speaks during the all-sports picnic honoring student-athletes Monday at Wisdom Gym. || Courtesy Tarleton Athletic Communications



STEPHENVILLE (April 25, 2016) — The Tarleton Athletics department hosted its annual All-Sports Banquet to hand out playing and academic honors Monday night.

“We’ve had a great year,” said Tarleton Athletic Director Lonn Reisman. “We’ve had several Lone Star Conference championships, our men’s basketball team won a regional championship to advance to the NCAA Elite Eight, and we’re still looking to have success with our competing spring sports. Our annual banquet is an opportunity to have all of the student-athletes together at one time and honor them for their efforts on the court and in the classroom. It’s a very exciting night for us.”

In addition to the recognition of the student-athletes, Tarleton President Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio handed out six All-Purple awards to those who have shown support and dedication of athletics at Tarleton State University.

The winners of the President’s All-Purple awards are: Mike and Sena Leese; Tom and Eileen Faulkenberry; L.V. Coffee; Sue Dunn; Ed Knoll; and Monty Bedwell.

“Our success is directly related to the support we have from our fans, our university, and the Stephenville community,” said Reisman. “Our All-Purple award is an honor that is very dear to my heart because it is our chance to recognize some of our greatest supporters.”

Following the presentation of the All-Purple awards and special recognition of the cheerleaders, Texan Stars, and Tarleton State University band, the program moved forward with the recognition of the individual award winners from each program.


The team award winners are as follows:


Offensive MVP – Le’Nard Meyers

Defensive MVP – Brandon Moore

Special Teams MVP – Brayden Coverdale

Zach Shaver Award – Tavaris Owens

Higgs Award – Le’Nard Meyers

Buddy Fornes Award – Chase Varnado


MVP – Hailey Roberts

Offensive MVP – Hailey Roberts

Co-Defensive MVPs – Kenya Alexander & Ayssa Garcia

Newcomer of the Year – Adrianna Knutson

Co-TexAnn Awards – Kelsey Raglin & Med Umbel


Women’s MVP – Aly Coughlin

Men’s MVP – Tye Doty


Co-MVPs – Raven McGrath & Bailey Wipff

TexAnn Award – Meagan O’Dell

Defensive MVP – Breanna Fuller

Outstanding Rebounder – Ikpeaku Iwobi

Most Improved – Tiara Tatum

Hustle Award – Bailey Wipff

Assist Leader – Morgan Ashmore


MVP – Michael Hardge

Texan Award – Chantz Chambers

Charge Award – Charles Hill

Newcomer of the Year – Romond Jenkins

All-Academic – Jakob Damstra & Jacob Morales

Most Improved – EJ Reed

Defensive MVP – Malcolm Hamilton


Women’s Track MVP – DeAijha Hicks-Boyce

Women’s Field MVP – Roxanna Hernandez

Men’s Track MVP – Chase Rathke

Men’s Field MVP – Rascellis Williams


Women’s Track MVP – Aly Coughlin

Women’s Field MVP – Hannah Patterson

Men’s Track MVP – Dylan Willett

Men’s Field MVP – William Carlton


MVP – Isabel Jimenez-Perea

Most Consistent – Casey Wild


Co-Offensive MVPs – Nyka Wood & Katelyn Conlee

Defensive MVP – Haley Freyman

Purple Heart Award – Avery Mullendore

Gold Glove Award – Rebeka Allen

Silver Spikes Award – Melody Mayse

Oscar P Award – Rebeka Allen


No awards announced while season still under way


No awards announced while season still under way


S.M. Athletic Training Award – Tyler Gilmore

S.M. Comeback Athlete – Katelin Huckabee

Texan Sports Medicine Association Award – Kassandra Soto


Cheerleaders of the Year – Kirstin Reichenau & Autumn White

Newcomers of the Year – Emily Alexander & Kiana Leal

Most Improved – Cheyenne Holt & Colton Lewis

Best All-Around – Lauren Geis & Keyla Bush


Football Upperclassman – Basil Jackson

Football Freshman – Noah Perez

Cross Country – Chase Rathke

Men’s Basketball – Jakob Damstra

Women’s Basketball – Raven McGrath

Volleyball – Chandler Gow

Baseball – Landon Merka

Softball – Melody Mayse

Men’s Track & Field – Blake Eschbach

Women’s Track & Field – Deylinn Garrett

Track & Field Throwers – Marissa Westbrook

Cheer – Kirstin Reichenau

Golf – Isabel Jimenez-Perea

Tennis – The ’15-’16 TexAnn Tennis Team

Athletic Volunteer Intern – Will Seevers

In addition to the individual team awards, Tarleton Athletics recognized the recipients of the Athletes Committed to Education (ACE) award winners, which honors student-athletes who maintain a 3.0 grade point average while competing in their respective sports.

The student-athletes honored in the ACE program are as follows:

Robert Bagley

William Blanchard

Daniel Bogue

Ryan Flynn

Zachary Freeman

Jacob French

Stacy Heinatz

Matthew Herrick

Hunter Houston

Trevor Inman

Garret Kizer

Zachary McCown

Cody Nitson

Forrest Perron

Samuel Scott

Collin Scribner

Hunter Seales

Jaring Damstra

Jacob Morales

Morgan Ashmore

Shelby Drews

Raven McGrath

Bailey Wipff

Andrew Clark

Tye Doty

Peyton Heinig

Dylan Willett

Haley Dennard

Audrey Shelton

Kendall Adams

Isaac Arellano

Cody Burtscher

Cooper Cole

Brayden Coverdale

Kason Fornes

Trenton Gow

Zachary Henshaw

Dakota Hesskew

John Hinton

Basil Jackson

Derek Kiser

Brandon Moore

Larry Osterman

Thomas Paschal

Tyler Pettit

Nick Prestwood

Justin Reasons

Ronald Reid

Colin Snell

Kyle Snell

Chase Varnado

Dalton Vondra

Patrick Wisener

Zed Woerner

Isabel Jimenez-Perea

Kerbey Kipp

Casey Wild

Rebeka Allen

Katelyn Conlee

Taylor Fitzgerald

Haley Freyman

Shelby Hedrick

Melody Mayse

Avery Mullendore

Alyssa Ringhausen

Savannah Stech

Mikayla Stogsdill

Kaitlyn Thomas

Delaney Wayland

Ashleigh Elward

Elena Preadca

Erika Richarme

Austin Castanon

Cade Hitzfeld

Jordan Jones

Randall Kadlacek

Cameron Krc

Brandon Lacy

Grant Russell

Christopher Wilkes

Alyson Coughlin

Tylo Farrar

Luke Scribner

Ariel Ballard

Kara Bickham

Alexondra Brooks

Meaghan Brown

Robbie Clarke

Macaele De Vries

Danyelle Dillard

Alexandra Fuselier

Mia Henry

Roxana Hernandez

Andrea Ibe

Ashley Johnson

Hannah Patterson

Kamrynn Schiller

Marissa Westbrook

Amanda Wheeler

Autum White

Marissa Banda

Cassandra Cutbirth

Chandler Gow

Julianna Hicks

Abby Mackey

Hannah McManus

Hailey Roberts

Rebecca Schlorff

Megan Umbel

Macie Walker


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.