JB Whatley captures steer roping average



STEPHENVILLE (September 22, 2016) — The Cowboy Capital of the World Pro Rodeo kicked into gear with the Steer Roping on September 22, 2016.  Steer roping, also known as steer tripping, is a rodeo event that features a steer and one mounted cowboy. This event at the CCPRA Rodeo is sponsored by Ultra Management, Brister Construction, CCI Culberson Construction, The Hard Way Ranch, Lawns, ETC, TB&D Construction, Mark and Dena Milner, Travis and Arnold Felts, and Creece and Crey Brister.  The winners received a huge cash payout, plus trophy belt buckles, trophy spurs and a trophy rifle.

JP Wickett from Sallisaw, Oklahoma took the early lead in the first go round with a time of 9.5 seconds.  He was challenged by the number two cowboy in the PRCA Steer Roping standings, Chet Herrin from Pawhuska, Oklahoma, who turned in a time of 9.8 seconds and the number one cowboy in the PRCA Steer Roping standings Rocky Patterson from Pratt, Kansas who was 9.9 seconds.  Fourth and fifth was a split between Marty Jones of Hobbs, New Mexico and Tony Reina from Wharton, Texas.

The win of the second round of the Cowboy Capital of the World Pro Rodeo Steer Roping went to Corey Ross from Liberty Hill, Texas with a time of 10.0 seconds.  Second was former World Champion Scott Snedecor from Fredericksburg, Texas with a run of 10.1 seconds.  Guy Allen, also a World Champion, finished in third with a time of 10.4 seconds.  In the average after two steers, Tony Reina from Wharton, Texas is in first place, while Corey Ross is a close second with a time of 21.9 seconds on two steers.

The third and final go round got off to a quick start as Ryan Willberg from Lott, Texas tied a steer down in 9.8 seconds. Second and third place in the go was a split between Jim Locke from Miami, Texas and Vin Fisher from Andrews, Texas with a time of 10.6 seconds. Fourth and fifth was Mark Milner and Neal Wood.

The win of the average went to JB Whatley from Gardendale, Texas with a time of 33.1 seconds on three steers.  Whatley received a trophy belt buckle from Mark and Dena Milner, a pair of trophy spurs from Travis and Arnold Felts, and a trophy Henry rifle from Creece and Crey Brister.  Second place in the average was JP Wickett from Sallisaw, Oklahoma with a time of 33.8 seconds on three steers.  Third went to Rocky Patterson with a time of 34.3 seconds on three steers.

The Twisted J Cowboy Capital of the World (CCPRA) Pro Rodeo is held at Lone Star Arena in STEPHENVILLE, Texas. Over the last few years, many changes have been made concerning the Cowboy Capital of the World PRCA Rodeo. The event has grown into one of the best rodeos in the entire county. For the second straight year, the CCPRA Pro Rodeo has been nominated for Medium-sized Rodeo of the Year in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. Not only is it one of the top five events its size, PRCA members have recognized it as one of the 20 best out of more than 600 rodeos.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply