Tarleton teams sweep Angelo State Classic

Courtesy SAVION WASHINGTON/Tarleton Athletic Communications

Special to The Flash

Men’s Results
Women’s Results

SAN ANGELO (October 12, 2016) – The Tarleton men’s and women’s cross country teams had their final tune-ups before the Lone Star Conference Championship and look geared and ready to go as they both came away with first-place finishes at the Angelo State Classic on Tuesday.

The Texans won the meet with 24 points as Joshua Perez was the top finisher, coming in second place in a time of 26:45.58. Jarred Elizondo finished in fourth place in 27:04.37 while Johen DeLeon, who ran unattached for the Texans, came in fifth (27:44.19). Tarleton had runners place in the next four spots, with Quenten Lasseter coming in sixth (27:52.73), Andrew Clark in seventh (28:00.58),Peyton Heinig in eighth (28:08.13) and Michael Simcho in ninth (28:16.19).

The TexAnns came away with 23 points and was led by Katelin Huckabee, who has been the women’s top finisher in all four meets this season, as the senior ran the 6,000-meter course in 24:20.79 to place second. Esmeralda Fuentes placed third in 24:27.79. In the individual standings, the TexAnns held places in fourth through ninth to help clinch the win. Andelynn Carlton finished fifth in 24:47.53, while Gretzel Jimenez placed sixth in 25:09.95. Gabrielle Howes (25:48.63) came in seventh,Molly Cross (26:31.94) in eighth and Emily Ayers placed ninth (26:34.80).

Tarleton will compete in the Lone Star Conference Championships hosted by Texas A&M-Commerce on October 22.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.