Erath County Clerk Gwinda Jones posts voting results at the Erath County Courthouse Tuesday evening. || Flash photo by JESSIE HORTON


ERATH COUNTY (November 8, 2016) – It’s official – the election has been the focus of many Americans and others across the globe and now the polls have closed. While Trump has won Texas, it may be morning before an official Presidential result is known.

In Erath County, all local elections were decided on primary day and uncontested Republican candidates include District Attorney 266th Judicial District, Alan Nash; County Attorney Lisa Pence; Sheriff Tommy Bryant; Tax Assessor-Collector Jennifer Carey; County Commissioner Precinct 1 Dee Stephens; Constable Precinct 1 Jason Schipper; Constable Precinct 2 Lee Roy Gaitan; and County Commissioner Precinct 3 Joe Brown.

Huckabay voters saw a long list of candidates for school board vying for five seats on the school board. Winners are Chrissy Dowell, Chad Hale, Jeff Heath, Jason Swatsell and Tricia Klein.

Lingleville ISD also voted on school board candidates, though there were less of them to select from than in Huckabay. Those winners include Sonya Koke (Place 1) – uncontested, Lonney Click (Place 2) – uncontested, Larry Griffin (Place 3) over Tammy Keller, and Brent Hallmark (Place 4) – uncontested.

And in Dublin ISD, voters decided if a new bond would be approved. Supporters of the bond stated the safety of students was the main concern, while those against the bond stated the expensive football stadium and other sports facilities included in the bond were completely unnecessary. Voters agreed and voted 54 percent against to 46 percent for the bond. This is the second election in a row Dublin ISD has attempted to get voters to approve a bond for facilities and both times it failed.

I want to reiterate what I have been saying for the past couple of weeks. Although the outcome of today’s election, was not what many people had hoped, Dublin had already won because our community faced one of the most sensitive and difficult topics (taxes) with class and composure,” Dublin ISD Superintendent Dr. Rodney Schneider said in a statement released following the results. “We won because we dealt with this sensitive subject matter with thoughtful and intelligent discourse as well as positive civil rhetoric and attitudes.  I am so  very proud of our community.  I am so very proud of our school district, kids, teachers, staff and administrators because we have overcome so much to become such a catalyst and positive force in the growth and development of our community. We won because I am confident that despite the negative outcome of today’s election, the positive growth in our school and community will continue unhindered.  I want to thank the Dublin Facilities Improvement committee for their hard work and commitment to the children of Dublin. It is a great day to be a Dublin Lion and living in the great community of Dublin.”

Rep. Mike Conaway wins over Nicholas Landholt in the race for U.S. House District 11 and Rep. Roger Williams, District 25, will retain his seat.

Uncontested candidates for state offices, who are all on the Republican ballot, include State Board of Education District 14, Sue Melton-Malone; State Representative District 59, J.D. Sheffield; and Justice 11th Court of Appeals District Place 3, John Bailey.

All LOCAL race results are listed below:


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply