Jenkins, Camidge named to Small College Basketball’s Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List


STEPHENVILLE – Tarleton senior forward Romond Jenkins and junior guard Ridell Camidge have been named to the Top 100 Watch List for the 2017 Bevo Francis Award presented to the top player in Small College Basketball.

The award, given out by, is awarded to a deserving player whose university is affiliated within NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.

Jenkins has emerged as one of the top big men in the nation this season. The 6-foot-7 senior is averaging a double-double with 12.2 points and 11.4 rebounds. Jenkins ranks top 10 in the nation in five categories: 4th in field goal percentage (68.1%), 4th in total rebounds (193), 7th in double-doubles (9), 7th in offensive rebounds per game (11.4), 9th in offensive rebounds per game (4.4). When Jenkins records a double-double this season, all Tarleton does is win, going 9-0 in those games. Jenkins also leads the Lone Star Conference in rebounds and field goal percentage and is the only LSC player to average a double-double. Jenkins has been named the LSC Defensive Player of the Week two times this season.

Camidge is in his first year with Tarleton after transferring from the University of Charlotte and has made an immediate impact. Camidge leads the Texans in scoring at 16.7 points per game, which ranks seventh in the LSC. Camidge has also been lights out from 3-point range, making an LSC-best 55 3-pointers on 41 percent shooting. Camidge also leads the LSC in free throw percentage, making 92 percent of his shots (47-51). Camidge has six 20-point games this season, more than anyone else on the Texans combined. He’s also had 10 games with at least three made 3-pointers. Camidge has been named the LSC Offensive Player of the Week three times this season.

Jenkins and Camidge are one of three Lone Star Conference players in the top 100 watch list, joining West Texas A&M’s David Chavlovich. Tarleton is the only LSC team with two players on the list.

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on April 1, while the 2017 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 3.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply