Ponder named LSC Coach of Year after TexAnns race to conference title

Tarleton head coach Pat Ponder has been named Lone Star Conference Women's Coach of the Year after the TexAnns won the conference team title last week in Kingsville. || The Flash Today/BRAD KEITH (For TarletonSports.com)


STEPHENVILLE (October 26, 2017) — The TexAnn cross country team won the school’s second Lone Star Conference Championship and with the team’s performance head coach Pat Ponder was named the LSC Women’s Coach of the Year, the league announced on Tuesday.

In addition to Ponder’s fourth career women’s cross country coach of the year award, Amy Riera was named the LSC Newcomer of the Year.

“It’s an honor to be selected by your peers, said head coach Ponder. “Amy earned that award with her performance on the course.”

Ponder’s women’s team is currently ranked No. 8 in the South Central Regional polls in the latest USTFCCCA rankings. In the LSC Championships hosted by Texas A&M-Kingsville on Oct. 21, the TexAnns defeated West Texas A&M with 53 points to the Lady Buffs 54 points.

Esmeralda Fuentes led the TexAnns at the LSC Championships and earned her second career all-conference honor for her second-place finish.

Gretzel Jimenez placed sixth, Emily Ayers finished 13th, and Imani Williams came in 15th at the LSC Championships to earn their first career all-conference award.

The Texans took home second place at the LSC Championships and had three runners named to the All-LSC Team. Michael Simcho was the top finisher for Tarleton coming in second-place. Justin Botello and Jarred Elizondo came in ninth and tenth at the meet to earn their honor.

Tarleton will compete at the NCAA South Central Regional hosted by West Texas A&M on Saturday, Nov. 4.

Political Advertisement

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply