No. 15 TexAnns ground Falcons to begin final home series


STEPHENVILLE – Tarleton got the final home series of the season off to a good start Friday night as the No. 15 TexAnns were firing on all cylinders in an 8-1 win over UT Permian Basin.

Tarleton got runs early and often by scoring in each of the first four innings of the game, beginning with an RBI single from Tanna Huie in the first to put the TexAnns on the board at 1-0.

Elizabeth Svienty got a three-run second inning started by drawing a one-out walk before eventually coming around to score on an RBI double from Georgia Capell. Meghann Wrinkle and Nyka Wood kept the scoring alive with an RBI sacrifice fly and an RBI single, respectively, to push the Tarleton lead out to 4-0 after two.

After UTPB cracked the run column with one in the third, Tarleton added one more in their half of the third on an RBI single from Kaitlyn Thomas before a Wood sacrifice fly and a Megan Durante home run tacked on two more in the fourth to extend the lead out to 7-1.


Durante struck again in the sixth with her second solo home run of the game – her third career multi-home run game and second this season – to extend the Tarleton lead out to the final score.

Jordan Withrow sat the Falcons down in order in the seventh to put a cap on her 23rd win of the season, tying Haley Freyman for the second-most wins in a single season. She is one win away from tying Brooke Saulters’ 2007 mark of 24 wins for the most in a year at Tarleton. Withrow allowed one run on five hits and two walks while striking out five.

Eight of the nine TexAnns in the starting lineup had at least one hit in the 12-hit effort, led by a 3-3 night from Durante with two RBI and two runs scored. Wrinkle and Thomas had two hits each while Georgia Capell, Wood, Tanna Huie, Karli Herron, and Elizabeth Svienty had one hit each.

Tarleton will be back in action tomorrow afternoon at 1 p.m. for a doubleheader with the Falcons. There will be a ‘Senior Day’ ceremony after the games for the seven TexAnn seniors on the roster – Haley Freyman, Nyka Wood, Kaitlyn Thomas, Marisa Flores, Meghann Wrinkle, Megan Durante, and Megan Rosewell.

About debug 971 Articles
Debug user

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.