Hafford named finalist for national Cliff Harris Award


Tarleton junior corner back Devin Hafford has been named one of 31 finalists for the sixth annual Cliff Harris Award, which recognizes the best small college defensive player in the nation.

Hafford becomes the second player in school history to be named a finalist for the award and the first since Cody Burtscher in 2016.


The recognition comes amid a banner week for the three-year Tarleton letterman as Hafford was recently named to two different All-America teams – D2CCA and Associated Press Second Team. He was named a first-team all-region selection by D2CCA, an All-LSC First Team honoree, and the Lone Star Conference Defensive Back of the Year during the Texans’ historic run to the Lone Star Conference Championship.

He was ranked No. 26 in the nation in passes defended (18). Hafford had 34 tackles at the cornerback position to go along with four interceptions and 14 breakups. He has started every game at corner sent arriving on campus as a true freshman in 2016 and has been a vital part of arguably the greatest defensive statistical turnaround in program history, which culminated in a school-record 12 wins and the program’s first appearance in the regional finals. The Texans boasted the No. 9-ranked scoring defense and No. 14-ranked rushing defense in the country and allowed just 303.2 total yards per game.

Devin Hafford returns an interception against Lincoln.

The Cliff Harris Award, which is sponsored by the Little Rock Touchdown Club, is presented to the nation’s top small college defensive player representing more than 5,000 defensive players from almost 500 NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA colleges and universities.

An overall winner will be announced on December 24th and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet on January 10, 2019. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy presented by Cliff Harris. In addition to the overall winner, the top vote getters from each division will also be announced. A prestigious group of former college and pro football greats serve on the Cliff Harris Award Committee.

For more information on the award, visit cliffharrisaward.com.

About debug 971 Articles
Debug user

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.