Bailey named semifinalist for National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell Trophy


STEPHENVILLE – Tarleton Football’s Brant Bailey was named a semifinalist for The National Football Foundation’s 2019 William V. Campbell Trophy. Celebrating its 30th year in 2019, the award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

There were 185 semifinalists announced by the NFF, with Bailey being one of 19 NCAA Division II student-athletes selected to the next round. The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 30, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2019 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 30th Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Bailey is a four-year starter for the Texans and has been named all-conference each of his first three seasons, including first-team All-LSC last season. As a junior, the Eastland native was also selected as an All-Region tight end. In addition to his on-field accomplishments, Bailey was named to the Academic All-LSC team and the LSC Commissioners Honor Roll with a 4.0 GPA.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

“These 185 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “For more than 60 years, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete program has showcased more than 800 college football players who have been successful on the football field, in the classroom and as leaders in the community. And we are excited to celebrate the 30th year of the William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda, which honors the best of the best. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda is a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total postgraduate scholarship of $25,000. This year’s postgraduate scholarships will push the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11.7 million.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees as well as their schools and coaches on their tremendous accomplishments,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We are extremely proud to highlight each semifinalist’s achievements, showcasing their ability to balance academics and athletics at the highest level. The NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the finalists from this outstanding group of candidates.”


  • 30th year of the William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda
  • 61st year of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments
  • 185 Nominations
  • 3.69 Average GPA
  • Nominees with a perfect 4.0 GPA
  • 59 Nominees with a 3.8 GPA or better
  • 81 Nominees with a 3.7 GPA or Better
  • 24 Academic All-America Selections
  • 108 Captains
  • 87 All-Conference Picks
  • 18 All-Americans
  • 71 Nominees from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • 39 Nominees from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (FCS)
  • 19 Nominees from NCAA Division II
  • 49 Nominees from NCAA Division III
  • Nominees from the NAIA
  • 89 Offensive Players
  • 76 Defensive Players
  • 20 Special Teams Players

Division II Semifinalists

SCHOOL                                  NAME
Ashland (OH)                          Clay Shreve
Bentley (MA)                           Ryan McCarthy
Colorado State-Pueblo            Dan List
East Stroudsburg (PA)             Levi Murphy
Ferris State (MI)                      Travis Russell
Frostburg State (MD)              Vincent Persichetti
Harding (AR)                           Taylor Streeter
Minnesota State Mankato        Alex Goettl
Newberry (SC)                         Tyler Lindsay
Northern State (SD)                 Zach Mohs
Northwest Missouri State        Ryan Spelhaug
Oklahoma Baptist                    Hayden Ashley
Ouachita Baptist (AR)              Brockton Brown
Sioux Falls (SD)                      Gabriel Watson
Southern Arkansas                  SirCharles Perkins
Stonehill (MA)                          Matthew Haite
Tarleton State (TX)                 Brant Bailey
Wayne State (MI)                     Ryan Smith
Wingate (NC)                           Connor Baroniunas


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply