Dearth named National Academic Momentum Award winner


ORLANDO, Fla. – Tarleton two-sport standout Kendall Dearth has been recognized as a First Team honoree of the 2020-21 Academic Momentum Award, sponsored by the Scholar Baller program and the Institute for Sport and Social Justice (ISSJ).

“We are so proud of Kendall for his commitment to improving in the classroom,” said Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Lonn Reisman. “He has established himself as a leader on the field and within our athletic department and now he’s carrying that commitment to the classroom. This is also a tremendous honor for our academic services staff who have risen our standards of academic excellence to new heights as we transition to NCAA Division I.”

Dearth is a two-sport athlete at Tarleton, competing in football and track and field. He has been a three-year starter on the offensive line for the Texans and a thrower for the track and field team. On the football field, he was an all-conference lineman for the Texans in their final year at Division II and was a Phil Steele FCS Preseason All-Independent team selection last fall. He has recorded back-to-back semesters of a 3.5 GPA or higher and is currently on pace to graduate.

Nominations were categorized into three teams based on each student-athlete’s academic improvement and the impact each student-athlete’s academic performance had on their classmates, teammates, academic advisors, and professors. Dearth is one of 27 student-athletes from across the country to earn First Team honors. Another 41 student-athletes made up the second and third teams.

Each award recipient will receive an official Academic Momentum Award certificate. First Team Academic Momentum Award recipients will also receive a limited edition ThinkMan® or ThinkWoman® trophy.

The complete list of First Team award winners are as follows:

Kendall Dearth, Tarleton State University, Business, Football; Track & Field
Islam Abudl-Rabb, Lincoln University, Health Science, Football
Caleb Asberry, Texas State University, Interdisciplinary Studies, Basketball
Kam Babb, Ohio State University, Communication, Football
Zoe Barnes, Villanova University, Psychology, Rowing
Diamond Battles, University of Central Florida, Criminal Justice, Basketball
John (JayJay) Chandler, Texas A&M University, University Studies-Leadership, Basketball
Madison Cotta, Mississippi State University, Human Development and Family Science, Soccer
Baylor Cupp, Texas A&M University, University Studies-Leadership, Football
Wyatt Davis, Ohio State University, Communication, Football
Nia Dennis, University of California Los Angeles, Sociology, Gymnastics
Golden Eke, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, General Studies; Business Studies, Football; Track & Field
Angel Gonzalez, American International College, Chemistry, Baseball
Donovan Hewitt, Ohio State University, Political Science, Gymnastics
Sarah Hofstetter, Loyola University, Psychology, Rowing
Antwuan Jackson, Ohio State University, Sociology, Football
Dominic Johnson, University of Buffalo, Education Studies, Football
Jaylon Jones, Georgia State University, Human Learning Development, Football
Maya LeBar, University of Utah, Political Science and Social Justice Certificate, Track & Field
Celeste Loughman, University of Texas-San Antonio, MS – Business, Softball
Daniel McKinley-Lewis, University of Toledo, MBA, Football
Grisdey Paredes-Alvarez, Western New Mexico University, Business Management, Softball
Juliunn Redmond, Illinois State University, Human Developmental Science, Basketball
Nequareus Roberts-Simon, Livingstone College, Criminal Justice, Track & Field
Dylan Swingle, Bowling Green State University, Sport Management, Basketball
Valeria Tapia  , University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Spanish Translation, Basketball
DayAndrea Thompson, Baylor University, Film and Digital Media, Acrobatic Tumbling

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply