Tarleton’s Ailie Hair named to WAC All-Freshman Team


ARLINGTON – The Western Athletic Conference announced its 2022 volleyball award winners on Tuesday afternoon and Tarleton freshman middle blocker Ailie Hair was etched in among the top freshmen in the conference.

Hair, a Liberty Hill, Texas, native, was named to the all-freshman team along with seven other players after a stellar first campaign in the purple and white.

Hair was a driving force for the Texans this season, playing in all 29 matches and 108 sets on the year. She finished third among all players in the WAC with a .346 hitting percentage. She also ranked top 10 in the league in blocks and aces, tied seventh with 1.00 blocks per set and coming in ninth with 0.31 aces per set.

Her hitting percentage (.346) ranks ninth all-time at Tarleton in a single season, ahead of Lauren Kersey in 2019 (.342) and behind Belinda Hardee in 1993 (.354). Among just the Division 1 season records, Hair’s 34 solo blocks are the most out of the three seasons and the 108 total blocks rank second behind Lorin McNeil in 2021 (137).

She led the team this season in blocks (108) and service aces (34) while also adding 212 kills which was good for fourth best.

Overall, Hair landed double digit kills in eight different matches and had eight matches with five plus total blocks. She was a two-time honoree of the WAC Freshman of the Week award, winning them after week one and two of the season.

2022 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners
WAC Player of the Year: Sarah Cruz, Gr., OH, UTRGV
WAC Setter of the Year: Luanna Emiliano, So., S, UTRGV
WAC Libero of the Year: Haley Hoang, Jr., DS, Stephen F. Austin
WAC Freshman of the Year: Avery Shewell, Fr., OH, Utah Valley
WAC Coach of the Year: Todd Lowery, UTRGV

WAC First Team
Christine Graf, Sr., OH, California Baptist
Melanie Brecka, Gr., OH, Grand Canyon
Klaire Mitchell, Sr., S, Grand Canyon
Tatum Parrott, Fr., OH, Grand Canyon
Molly Johnson, Gr., OH, New Mexico State
Ielan Bradley, Jr., MB, Stephen F. Austin 
Tori Dorius, Sr., OH, Utah Valley
Kazna Tanuvasa, Gr., OH, Utah Valley
Brianna Ford, So., OH, UT Arlington 
Sarah Cruz, Gr., OH, UTRGV
Luanna Emiliano, So., S, UTRGV

WAC Second Team
Katie Birtcil, Sr., OH, New Mexico State
Lia Mosher, Gr., MB, New Mexico State 
Hannah Baker, So., DS/L, Sam Houston 
Haley Hoang, Jr., DS, Stephen F. Austin
Ariana Pagan, Sr., OH, Stephen F. Austin
Makenzie Templeton, Jr., OH, Southern Utah 
Kate Hardy, Jr., MB, Utah Tech 
Taela Laufiso, Sr., S, Utah Tech 
Whittnee Nihipali, Sr., OH, Utah Tech
Avery Shewell, Fr., OH, Utah Valley
Luisa Silva Dos Santos, Jr., MB, UTRGV

WAC All-Freshman Team
Ashli Edmiston, OH/DS, Abilene Christian 
Tatum Parrott, OH, Grand Canyon
Madison Dyer, MB, Sam Houston 
Jayden Flynn, S, Stephen F. Austin
Izabella Ortiz, MB, Stephen F. Austin
Ailie Hair, MB, Tarleton
Avery Shewell, OH, Utah Valley 
Sophie Skinner, S, UT Arlington

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.