Students win W.B. Martin Award for Writing Excellence, Anthology Editors’ Choice Awards

STEPHENVILLE (May 7, 2018) — Four Tarleton State University students have been selected for special recognition in the 24th volume of Anthology, the student literary publication released to the public last Thursday during readings and a reception in the Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center.

Christi Basson is recipient of the William B. Martin Award for Writing Excellence. This award is given to a student whose written material achieves a level of outstanding craftsmanship, creativity and a demonstration of exceptional nuances that set it apart from all others in consideration. Established by family in honor of the former faculty member and head of the Department of English and Languages, the $500 award was presented by W.B. Martin’s son, Bruce Martin of San Antonio.

Charles Robitaille, owner of Stephenville’s Allied Body & Frame and Anthology’s long-time corporate sponsor, presented three Editors’ Choice Awards. Each winner received $100.

More than 250 works were submitted for possible inclusion in the 24th volume, with a total of 109 written works and 144 art and digital entries.

Top photo: Mr. Bruce Martin, son of Dr. W.B. Martin, presents the inaugural William B. Martin Award for Writing Excellence to Chrisit Basson. Bottom photo: Winners of this year’s Anthology Editor’s Choice Awards were announced during the publication’s release at Tarleton’s Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center. Pictured (l-r) are co-managing editor Benedda Konvicka; award recipients Lacie Harris, Luke Munchrath and Denise Harroff; and co-managing editor Dr. Marilyn Robitaille.

Editor’s Choice Awards recipients are:
• Lacie Harris, graduate student and university staff member –Award for Variety of Genres for art, photography, poetry and prose;
• Denise Haroff, recent alumna majoring in communications –Award for Coverage of Contemporary Issues on timely and thought-provoking topics; and
• Luke Munchrath, junior communications major – Award for Outstanding Photography for images relating emotional depth and lucidity.

In addition to Editor’s Choice Awards recipients, other contributors to the 2018 edition of Anthologyare Jacklyn Beaster, Briana Busby, Kiyanna Cherry, Penelope Clark, Adrianne Joelle Del Castillo, Jaycie Delbosque, Lillian Edwards, Channing Flatt, Hailey Garner, Christian Daniel Garza, Bradley Hawk, Amber Holland, Shannon Lawless, Annalea Nelson, Reynaldo Olivo, Gabriella Pabon, Christine Phipps, Angelique Romike-Duran, Amy Roytan, Myjah Stubbs and Sara Watts.

Students featured as part of the online gallery are Alex Huerta and Nicola Ruelae.

Students whose work is included in both the journal and the online gallery are Danielle Belleny, Kelsey Brown, Melissa Burns, Sterling Devins, Alexcianna Diaz, Madison Gover, Elexus Hargis, John Janovetz, Arliss Lewis, Hannah Jean Mabry, Everett Meade, Laura Mendoza, Alvaro Munoz, Violet Newell, Maria Smith and Amanda Yowell.

View the online gallery at

Cierra Hawk, Ciera Kade and Lizmarie Irizarry-Lallave are editors of the 2018 publication. Benni Konvicka and Dr. Marilyn Robitaille are managing editors.

Copies of Anthologyare available at the Dick Smith Library circulation desk, the Barry B. Thompson Student Center information desk, or by calling Robitaille at 254-968-9281.

To submit content for future publication consideration, visit The submission period runs year-round with the deadline for Volume 25 set Feb. 15, 2019.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply