All-District football: Dublin dominates superlative honors in 10-3A Division II


Staff Report

Sport: (December 8, 2014) — With a historic season comes a historic load of individual accolades for the Dublin Lions.

After placing second in 10-3A Division II and going on to win a playoff game for the first time in 50 years, Dublin took four of the district’s superlative honors, 12 first-team all-district awards, six second-team spots and five honorable-mention accolades. In all, the Lions were honored 23 times in a vote of the league’s head coaches.

“We did good, I was proud to see so many of our kids recognized for the hard work they put in,” said Dublin head coach Bob Cervetto.

Quarterback Brady Holleman passed for more than 2,200 yards and 20 touchdowns, his second straight 2,000-yard passing season, and was named 3-4A Division I Offensive MVP.

Brady Holleman is offensive player of the year in 10-3A Division II || Photo by RUSSELL HUFFMAN
Brady Holleman is offensive player of the year in 10-3A Division II || Photo by RUSSELL HUFFMAN

Conner Moore and Ambrosio Rodriguez were big parts of the front lines that many coaches in the area labeled Dublin’s biggest strengths. Moore was named the district’s defensive player of the year while Rodriguez is lineman of the year. Chuy Chacon had a knack for big plays in the return game, and played all over the field for the Lions on his way to special teams player of the year honors.

Abel Aguilar had a stretch of three consecutive 100-yard receiving games during district and made the first-team offensive list along with fellow wide receiver Manny Ramirez, running back Travis Blazi, RB/WR Chacon, offensive lineman Cade Hill and kicker Isaac Campos.

Making the first-team defense roster are Aguilar, Chacon and Holleman in the secondary, Blazi at linebacker and Hill on the line.

Here is a list of all Dublin’s honors:

Offensive MVP:  Brady Holleman

Defensive MVP:  Conner Moore

Lineman of the Year:  Ambrosio Rodriguez

Special Team Player of the Year:  Chuy Chacon

1st Team- All District- Offense

Abel Aguilar- Wide Receiver

Manny Ramirez- Wide Receiver

Travis Blazi- Running Back

Chuy Chacon- RB/WR

Cade Hill- Offensive Line

Isaac Campos- Kicker

1st Team- All District- Defense

Abel Aguilar- Defensive Back

Travis Blazi- Linebacker

Cade Hill- Defensive Line

Marcos Sanchez- Defensive Line

Chuy Chacon- Defensive Back

Brady Holleman- Defensive Back

2nd Team – All District- Offense

Brayden Burleson- Wide Receiver

Conner Moore- Offensive Line

Justin Ricks- Offensive Line

2nd Team- All District- Defense

Tyler Stone- Linebacker

Dalton Zinck- Linebacker

Justin Ricks- Defensive Line

Honorable Mention- All District

Taylor Stone- Offensive Line

Jose Villalobos- Offensive Line

Marcos Sanchez- Offensive Line

Bryson Fowler- Wide Receiver

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.