Hailey named preseason POY, TexAnns tabbed third

TexAnns have exhibition at Baylor, 7 p.m. next Tuesday


Special to The Flash Today
Lone Star Conference

RICHARDSON (October 25, 2017) — West Texas A&M is the top choice to win the Lone Star Conference title, according to the 2017-18 LSC preseason women’s basketball poll announced Wednesday.

The league’s preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

WT earned 11 first-place votes for 301 points after winning the South Central Regional title for the third time in the last four years last season.  The Lady Buffs made their eighth Elite Eight appearance with a 26-9 overall record.

Eastern New Mexico, who won a share of the LSC title at 16-4 in league action, was second with seven top votes and 280 points.  Tarleton State ranked third as the defending tournament champions received three first-place votes and 270 points.

Angelo State was a close fourth with four top votes and 267 points after claiming a share of the LSC crown last season.  Texas A&M-Commerce ranked fifth with the remaining six first-place votes and 260 points.

Texas Woman’s was sixth with 172 points followed by Cameron seventh (145), Texas A&M-Kingsville eighth (121), and Midwestern State ninth (120). UT Permian Basin (63) and Western New Mexico (47) completed the poll.

Tarleton’s Mackenzie Hailey claimed Preseason Player of the Year honors.  She was the favorite on 15 of the 31 ballots cast.

Hailey, a sophomore forward from Burleson, Texas, averaged 16.1 points and 8.4 rebounds to earn LSC Newcomer of the Year and second-team All-LSC acclaim.  The LSC tournament MVP scored in double digits in 27 games, including eight 20-point scoring efforts.

The LSC has 11 teams set for this season and the competition should be as competitive as ever.  The season begins in early November with LSC teams playing a double round robin league schedule, in which each team plays a home and away contest against each of the other teams to determine the LSC champion.


The LSC champion will be the regular season winner determined by league games, while the postseason tournament winner is designated as LSC Tournament Champion and earns the conference’s automatic qualification.  The top eight teams in the final conference standings qualify for the postseason tournament set for March 1-4, 2018, at Dr Pepper Arena in Frisco, Texas.

1 West Texas A&M 11 301
2 Eastern New Mexico 7 280
3 Tarleton State 3 270
4 Angelo State 4 267
5 Texas A&M-Commerce 6 260
6 Texas Woman’s 172
7 Cameron 145
8 Texas A&M-Kingsville 121
9 Midwestern State 120
10 UT Permian Basin 63
11 Western New Mexico 47

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply